Old 22-07-2008, 09:20 AM
cookie8 (Vincent)
Hooked since Halley's

900nc lunar capture : help

Just received my 900nc & adapter yesterday. Downloaded K3CCD-1 & Registax. I have never used a TouCam before thought the moon's craters a good place to start. I could not focus with a 2x barlow with my 12"LB which has a FL of 1500mm( may be I did not try hard enough) so tried without one. Still the moon drifted very fast across the FOV. I have no idea what settings to use. Need plenty of your help guys to get me started.
Old 23-07-2008, 03:54 PM
Merlin66 (Ken)

Cookie8,
You raise two issues:
-getting the webcam to focus
-drift of the moon across the field

If you can see an image of some craters on the screen, then at least you're getting close, more practise and patience....

The second issue is a result of using a scope without a RA drive. Bear in mind the webcam's field of view is the "equivalent" of using a 6mm eyepiece
so things will appear to move pretty quickly.
Again, some practise! position the object at the edge of the field and record as it drifts across.... K3CCD can still stack the centre parts to give a good result.
To improve focussing, set the scope up during the day at a distant object and move the webcam, focusser until you get the best results. I mark my focusser tube position with a pencil line as an aid to find a close staring point later.
Keep practising.
Old 23-07-2008, 07:14 PM
helioz (Erwin)

Cookie8,
I have just started using my 900NC and my problems were similar to yours.
When using the camera you will find that it's only a very small range of the focuser where you can make out anything at all, the rest of the range is just a blurr. As you are moving the focuser it's easy to move through the "in focus" point without realizing it due to the screen update time.
Select 25fps before you start.
Setup during daytime is a lot easier.
Old 23-07-2008, 07:21 PM
cookie8 (Vincent)
Hooked since Halley's