#1  
Old 15-04-2012, 02:07 PM
zcream (Anmol)
Registered User

zcream is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4
Flea3 setup for ultra slow motion 120fps

Hi! I am filming some gymnasts for a projects. I tried 50p but it was still too fast. I chanced on the Flea3 with 120fps speed.
I only need 3 seconds at most in the 120fps mode.

Could someone suggest a complete rig that can be mounted on a tripod ?

With the Flea3, power and a slate with either ExpressCard or USB3 slots that actually work in received 720p at 120fps.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-04-2012, 07:55 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,465
You will need a 7200 external drive too. I doubt that you will get this to happen at 120fps though. I suspect you will drop a lot of frames unless you have a top of the line laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-04-2012, 08:47 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Haese View Post
You will need a 7200 external drive too. I doubt that you will get this to happen at 120fps though. I suspect you will drop a lot of frames unless you have a top of the line laptop.
Or replace the mechanical disk with an SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-04-2012, 09:45 AM
zcream (Anmol)
Registered User

zcream is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4
Yes an ssd was the plan. There is a 240GB SSD on special at newegg for 170/-
Just picking it up.

I found 2 netbooks with an Expresscard34 slot. Would this work with a USB3 adapter ?

Since its RAW and there is no compression involved, I doubt it would require much CPU power.

I just wanted to know the minimum specs on a laptop that someone has used to capture 120fps RAW.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-04-2012, 09:31 AM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
It works really well with a Macbook pro, you can run windows or OSX and it has firewire800 built in.
I can get 120fps on mine with the SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-04-2012, 01:06 PM
Moon's Avatar
Moon (James)
This sentence is false

Moon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,147
I just had a play with a Nikon 1 J1 which also has 120 fps.
Looks like a lot of fun!
James
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-05-2012, 05:18 PM
zcream (Anmol)
Registered User

zcream is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4
Ive got a Nikon P300 that give 720p for 0.5 secs at 120fps and a HD Hero2 that offers 120fps at WVGA.
Maybe I will try these out first.

What setup should I use for 720p 120fps and Flea3? The MBP setup does not work since only the USB3 Flea3 cameras offer 720p at 120fps.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-05-2012, 12:43 PM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by zcream View Post
Ive got a Nikon P300 that give 720p for 0.5 secs at 120fps and a HD Hero2 that offers 120fps at WVGA.
Maybe I will try these out first.

What setup should I use for 720p 120fps and Flea3? The MBP setup does not work since only the USB3 Flea3 cameras offer 720p at 120fps.
Not sure, I was running firewire800 cameras.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement