Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21  
Old 23-01-2020, 12:50 PM
The_bluester's Avatar
The_bluester (Paul)
Registered User

The_bluester is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kilmore, Australia
Posts: 2,230
I think if people are worried about snooping processes they need to worry about a lot more things than Win10.

By my understanding, updates still can't be turned off without digging in to the registry or some jiggery-pokery in routers to block some traffic or similar tricks, but unless you really do want to have your PC totally isolated from the internet it would be best to just let it update. In my experience, W10 has been broken by updates less often than my iphone has. The other bugbear of Windows 10 updating and restarting itself in the middle of the night without user interaction is now easy to deal with, set the active hours to span the entire night and the problem is gone.

I don't see eliminating connectivity as a solution myself, I remote in to my mount PC and run it headless (It has not had a monitor or keyboard plugged in to it in 12 months) and it is using software to copy image files to my NAS in the house as soon as they are downloaded from the camera. They are then replicated on my PC in the house. Unless I want to go outside to make a basic change or just see how things are progressing, mine has to be on my network.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 23-01-2020, 01:16 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by miki63au View Post
Update:

Well, MS not take no for an answer... after boot up this msg appears.
And blank all other monitor till I shut it down the blue screen msg.

Ah, and not just $300 for the new OS but please buy a new PC too.
Sure, $$$ grows on trees... not on mine unfortunately ��

Mick
That's just a splash screen. You can turn it off by ticking "don't remind me again". In no way does it stop win7 to boot or work as advertised. Maybe you're having another separate issue with your machine.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 23-01-2020, 10:25 PM
RAJAH235's Avatar
RAJAH235
A very 'Senior' member.

RAJAH235 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Coast N.S.W.
Posts: 2,499
The free upgrade, (whatever), from WIN 7 to WIN 10 is still available.

Go to your "friendly" MS site & look for the "Media Creation Tool."
Info on how to use it is available on the site.
> https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/soft...load/windows10

Back up all your stuff before doing the upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 24-01-2020, 03:07 AM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (EU)
Posts: 1,132
Get a Mac (or if it is too pricy, install a Linux distro on an existing computer) and get VirtualBox. It runs W10 perfectly, isolated from your host OS.
I have macOS and occasionally I need Windows and then I use Virtualbox. When Windows updates with the blue screen 'configuring updates, don't turn off your PC', I can happily continue on macOS on the same computer.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 24-01-2020, 04:19 AM
Ukastronomer's Avatar
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 1,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by miki63au View Post
Merry Christmas everyone


I've been told by an IT guy MS will stop supporting W7 and I should install W10.


I hate changes and now everything working OK on my telescope comp.
I use CdC, PHD2, DSS, PS, Backyard EOS, FireCapture, Nebulosity, Autostakker


Should I expect trouble to make it all work or the installation is relatively 'painless' ??


Thanks for your help.


Cheers,
Mick
If you hate changes then how about Windows 95
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 24-01-2020, 11:00 PM
Kal's Avatar
Kal (Andrew)
1" v

Kal is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,806
You can still upgrade W7 to W10 for free. I did it in December because of the ending support, and the pc still feels the same. All my apps worked despite this being a W7 that was installed back in 2011.


Here is a link to a page with more info:


https://www.zdnet.com/article/heres-...ws-10-upgrade/
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25-01-2020, 06:58 AM
miki63au's Avatar
miki63au
Registered User

miki63au is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 353
Thanks guys, excellent discussion

The question is in my mind now.... is it worth it? Will it improve performance, security etc. Is the OS bigger than the W7 and generate more unnecessary files to clog up the HD? Or perhaps clean itself?
I'm not an IT expert and reluctant to dig in deep to setting I have no idea of.... fear of screw things up. But always can ask help from IT guys I guess...
So, is it worth it? Or, like some of you suggest stay with W7?
My PC used for control telescope, cameras , guiding, processing as well net surfing, download and upload files etc.

Cheers,
Mick

Last edited by miki63au; 25-01-2020 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-02-2020, 03:35 PM
Kal's Avatar
Kal (Andrew)
1" v

Kal is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,806
Mick, it actually cleared up some space on my HDD when I upgraded to W10. To get the upgrade through I had to initially clear some space (my W7 was on an old 80Gb SSD) and I only had 6Gb free. So I cleared it out to 15Gb free space, did the upgrade, and ended up with 25Gb free space!


As for performance, I notice no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-02-2020, 07:02 PM
miki63au's Avatar
miki63au
Registered User

miki63au is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal View Post
Mick, it actually cleared up some space on my HDD when I upgraded to W10. To get the upgrade through I had to initially clear some space (my W7 was on an old 80Gb SSD) and I only had 6Gb free. So I cleared it out to 15Gb free space, did the upgrade, and ended up with 25Gb free space!


As for performance, I notice no difference.

Thanks Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-02-2020, 06:55 AM
OICURMT's Avatar
OICURMT
Oh, I See You Are Empty!

OICURMT is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Laramie, WY - United States of America
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imme View Post
The only thing I have to say is make sure you stop all updates occurring....there seem to be never ending automated ones happening every time the sky is clear and they occur when your back is turned in the middle of imaging runs.

Apart from that Ive been fine with w10
Two ways to do this in Windows 10...Under : Start/Settings/Update & Security , Click on either


"Pause updates for 7 days" (self explanatory)

"Change active hours" and set it to 7pm to 7am, which will stop updates from running at night.


OIC!
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 16-02-2020, 04:14 PM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 626
I am on Win 7 and as this is now not supported by Microsoft I believe that they are providing a free upgrade to Win 10. I have been told that after a long upload/installation/update period the initial start up of the new Win10 can lead to the message "User profile failed the sign-in" which then does not allow access to Win 10 and involves a difficult and lengthy "fix".
Any opinions/experience with this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 16-02-2020, 05:41 PM
miki63au's Avatar
miki63au
Registered User

miki63au is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjphilli View Post
I am on Win 7 and as this is now not supported by Microsoft I believe that they are providing a free upgrade to Win 10. I have been told that after a long upload/installation/update period the initial start up of the new Win10 can lead to the message "User profile failed the sign-in" which then does not allow access to Win 10 and involves a difficult and lengthy "fix".
Any opinions/experience with this problem?

Would be a nightmare for a non IT dude (like me)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 17-02-2020, 08:41 AM
CalvinKlein's Avatar
CalvinKlein (Kelvin)
Registered User

CalvinKlein is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Cudgen NSW
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjphilli View Post
I am on Win 7 and as this is now not supported by Microsoft I believe that they are providing a free upgrade to Win 10. I have been told that after a long upload/installation/update period the initial start up of the new Win10 can lead to the message "User profile failed the sign-in" which then does not allow access to Win 10 and involves a difficult and lengthy "fix".
Any opinions/experience with this problem?


I have found this to be exceptionally rare. Of the dozens I have done in recent months for clients I have had only maybe 5 that have failed and each one reverted back to Windows 7 without intervention.

(This assumes you are using a USB stick to do the upgrade created with the free Media Creation Tool.)

How old is the computer you are planning to upgrade ?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 17-02-2020, 07:59 PM
RAJAH235's Avatar
RAJAH235
A very 'Senior' member.

RAJAH235 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Coast N.S.W.
Posts: 2,499
Just another little hint...or 3...
When performing the so called "Upgrade", make sure that there's nothing else
plugged into any USB port, 'cept for your mouse & keyboard. (If applicable.)
Might also be a good idea to either turn off, (If possible, if not, then un-install)
your current A/V program.

Both have been known to interfere with the WIN10 installation.

Also.....Disconnect the M/C from the internet.
You can check for any updates, later.

Last edited by RAJAH235; 17-02-2020 at 09:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement