ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
63.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
12:53 pm
Perth
10:53 am
Auckland
2:53 pm
New York*
10:53 pm
Paris*
4:53 am
GMT
2:53 am




  #1  
Old 20-03-2018, 11:00 PM
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,715
Weird stars

Hey gang, just stacked some images from this saturday at watts bridge. I decided to try some more vague and not that well known target (for me anyways) since my guiding was by far my personal best. These were 10 minute exposures but when I stacked them, on one side, it sort of has a 3d effect where one colour seems to have shifted slightly, it actually hurts my eyes if i look at it for too long. Anyone know what could cause this effect? If so how do I get rid of these literal eyesores. The rest of the image seems fine, its just on the right side that seems to be effected (gradually getting worse as it approaches the edge. I've attached the full image as well as a 100% crop of one of affected side.
full res image here
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (what.jpg)
34.7 KB43 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-03-2018, 11:18 PM
billdan's Avatar
billdan (Bill)
Registered User

billdan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Narangba, SE QLD
Posts: 931
Hi Tony,

I had a similar effect with my QHY12 OSC camera, though in my case it was the blue that was out of alignment.
I asked the question on the Startools forum what was happening and I was told it is a stacking artifact or debayering artifact that only occurs with OSC cameras.
Fortunately Startools has a module called "Lens", where you can move the red or blue pixels left/right or up/down, to get them into alignment. This fixed the problem for me.

EDIT: Your problem could be different if its only happening towards the edge, mine happened across the whole frame.

Cheers
Bill

Last edited by billdan; 20-03-2018 at 11:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-03-2018, 07:38 PM
Slawomir's Avatar
Slawomir (Suavi)
PI cult member

Slawomir is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Proserpine
Posts: 2,277
Hi Tony,

It looks like a sensor tilt to me, with the top right corner either being too close or too far. I suspect you are using a doublet, which would emphasise the tilt, so the corner that is out of focus would have stars with slightly shifted positions and would vary is size in different channels (RGB).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-03-2018, 09:43 PM
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,715
I'm using a triplet. I haven't had any issues like this before. I'm thinking maybe the camera wasn't securely tightened and slacked on an angle on the focuser. Can that cause this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-03-2018, 10:36 PM
Bart's Avatar
Bart
Don't have a cow, Man!

Bart is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 456
I think it is a registration/star alignment issue when you are preparing them to be stacked. I have noticed it some times in my images and when I go back and take more time calibrating and registering them, the problem goes away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-03-2018, 07:37 AM
Slawomir's Avatar
Slawomir (Suavi)
PI cult member

Slawomir is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Proserpine
Posts: 2,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by that_guy View Post
I'm using a triplet. I haven't had any issues like this before. I'm thinking maybe the camera wasn't securely tightened and slacked on an angle on the focuser. Can that cause this?
Yes, I believe this could be the cause of tilt that leads to star misalignment in part of the image.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement