#1  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:10 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
DMK21 - driver issues?

Brainstrust

I have a DMK21AU21 which I bought second hand

I can access the camera using IC Capture but the camera doesn't want to send any images to the PC.

I had this issue when I first picked it up but rectified it by restarting my pc. This time however I am having no joy.

I've tried reinstalling the drivers to no avail.

does anyone have any tips on this?

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:13 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvelez View Post
Brainstrust

I have a DMK21AU21 which I bought second hand

I can access the camera using IC Capture but the camera doesn't want to send any images to the PC.

I had this issue when I first picked it up but rectified it by restarting my pc. This time however I am having no joy.

I've tried reinstalling the drivers to no avail.

does anyone have any tips on this?

Pete
Sounds like a bad cable connection. Does it appear in the device manager list? Check for hidden devices while it's connected, uninstall then replug it in. I have the firewall model and it is a little temperamental at times too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:19 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Sounds like a bad cable connection. Does it appear in the device manager list? Check for hidden devices while it's connected, uninstall then replug it in. I have the firewall model and it is a little temperamental at times too.
Thanks Marc

tried 2 different cables.

It shows up in Device Manager ok and it connects to the capture software which is what I find weird. Just won't send images.

How do I check for hidden devices?

I'll uninstall, unplug and then plug it in again and see if that makes a difference

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:21 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvelez View Post
Thanks Marc

tried 2 different cables.

It shows up in Device Manager ok and it connects to the capture software which is what I find weird. Just won't send images.

How do I check for hidden devices?

I'll uninstall, unplug and then plug it in again and see if that makes a difference

Pete
If it connects and the program recognizes it then it's fine. I have no idea why it doesn't stream video though. Have you tried re-installing the capture software or use another one to test that it is not a problem with the sensor itself?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:27 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
If it connects and the program recognizes it then it's fine. I have no idea why it doesn't stream video though. Have you tried re-installing the capture software or use another one to test that it is not a problem with the sensor itself?
Have tried reinstalling the capture software - no joy

will try Maxim - if I can find a suitable driver

Thanks for your suggestions

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:31 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvelez View Post
Have tried reinstalling the capture software - no joy

will try Maxim - if I can find a suitable driver

Thanks for your suggestions

Pete
If you can rule out the camera then it's a good thing. Which version of IC did you use? I have 2.2 from memory.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:37 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Bingo! It works again!

Thanks for your help Marc

I uninstalled the driver, shut down the pc, restarted, reinstalled IC Capture and I now have data

Hopefully it plays nicely now

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-10-2012, 08:38 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvelez View Post
Bingo! It works again!

Thanks for your help Marc

I uninstalled the driver, shut down the pc, restarted, reinstalled IC Capture and I now have data

Hopefully it plays nicely now

Pete
Cool - fingers crossed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-10-2012, 09:11 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Processing first AVI - all new to me as I usually do DSOs.

Will let you know how it goes

Thanks again

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-10-2012, 09:36 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
D'Oh moment perhaps

I was trying to run the camera at 60fps. I think my video card or pc can only cope with 30fps. I get a blank screen and no data at 60 fps but can collect good data at 30

will keep fiddling

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20-10-2012, 10:58 AM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,301
And if you need to try it again, PHD will work with them, if only to see that the image appears.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-10-2012, 11:47 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeal View Post
And if you need to try it again, PHD will work with them, if only to see that the image appears.
Gary
Cheers Gary

Will give it a go

Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement