#1  
Old 22-05-2009, 09:04 PM
barx1963's Avatar
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

barx1963 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waurn Ponds Vic
Posts: 3,789
Using DSLR Shutter

I am using a canon 400D and being a lazy little sod I thought a program that would control the shutter remotely for shots over 30s would be a great idea. I have downloaded DSLR Shutter from Stark Labs which it would seem would fit the bill but it is asking for something known as a DSUSB. What is this mysterious device where can I get one?
Any help would be gratefully appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-05-2009, 08:15 AM
dpastern (Dave Pastern)
PI cult member

dpastern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,874
This answers your questions:

http://www.store.shoestringastronomy...roducts_ds.htm

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-05-2009, 11:23 AM
barx1963's Avatar
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

barx1963 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waurn Ponds Vic
Posts: 3,789
Cheers Dave. Can these be bought in Oz?

Malcolm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-05-2009, 12:19 PM
mat,v's Avatar
mat,v
luv'n life

mat,v is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kempsey,NSW
Posts: 244
Re,gpusb

I think Bintel may have these items,,Google their website,,,Good luck,,MAT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-05-2009, 12:36 PM
dpastern (Dave Pastern)
PI cult member

dpastern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,874
I'm not entirely sure Malcolm, I simply googled what the term DSUSB meant and picked the first entry ;-) I have no idea really what it is, I just skimmed the page and felt it was an appropriate link to give you in order to help you out! I'm sure other more knowledgeable and experienced guys on here will answer your question though!

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-05-2009, 12:45 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Malcolm,

Yeah, Bintel usually stocks these items.

I've got the GPUSB which is used for guiding my G-11. I bought mine directly from Shoestring Astronomy, at the time, because I wasn't sure if Bintel had them back when I got it.

Unfortunately, they seem awfully expensive for what they are. They do a good job, though.

I used to use the good old DSLR Focus, with a home built serial cable, which, unfortunately doesn't have support for the "newer" Canon DSLR's such as the 40D and onwards. I downloaded DSLR Shutter but then realised that it won't support the direct USB data/instruction cable, so, again, you're stuck with 30 second exposures. I realised then, that I'd either have to purchase the DSUSB or purchase Craig Stark's other program, Nebulosity.

So, I fork out the $81 for the software only to realise that it doesn't save files in the *.CR2 RAW format; it converts them to *.FITS files. Which is fine if you are going to use Nebulosity to process your images, but, useless if you use IRIS for all your astrophotographic processing. I use IRIS and am a bit miffed about what seems like a waste of money!

But, I then realised the Remote Shooting feature in the Canon EOS Utility will allow me to do long exposures through the single cable. In the older versions of the software, that came with the 300D and 350D, for example, didn't support exposures longer than 30 seconds, if my memory serves me correctly. Unfortunately, the software still doesn't support mirror lockup, but, at least it saves in the native format!

So, before you go and spend the money on the DSUSB, think about giving the Canon EOS Utility a go. I really liked the idea of Nebulosity being able to interact with PHD Guiding, and therefore enabled the ability to dither your guidestar between exposures facilitating in nicer images, but, sacrificing the native RAW format was not an option.

Regards,
Humayun
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-05-2009, 05:14 PM
gjelke (Greg)
Registered User

gjelke is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 20
Eclipse Orchestrator

Hi,
I know it is for photographing eclipse's bit but the requirement is still the same. I have see this software in use but have not had the opportunity to use it yet. It needs some editing of a configuration file that tells the software what phonographs to take and with which settings.

Cheers

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-05-2009, 11:29 AM
SMR's Avatar
SMR
Steve Russell

SMR is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Orange, NSW
Posts: 76
Hi Greg

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjelke View Post
Hi,
I know it is for photographing eclipse's bit but the requirement is still the same. I have see this software in use but have not had the opportunity to use it yet. It needs some editing of a configuration file that tells the software what phonographs to take and with which settings.

Cheers

Greg
Actually, the requirements are very different. EO's scripts are tied to the time of events during a solar eclipse: second contact - 2 seconds, for example. Eclipse exposure times are short -- I'm not sure EO supports >30 seconds. It doesn't work with the most recent Canon cameras (450D, for example). Etc, etc.

I would use a piece of software designed for taking long exposure sequences. That's not EO.

Steve.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-05-2009, 07:34 AM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
As Octane suggested, hook you camera up to the laptop via USB and open the remote shooting window. There you can select the amount of shots you want to take and the duration of the shots as well as the delay between shots. So if you want to take 1min subs and you are using the dslr built in noise reduction you can set each shot to be taken at intervals of 1min and 1sec to allow for the darks to be taken by the camera, it works a treat.
You can also by a remote off ebay if you dont want use the laptop, I got one for $60, it will do the same thing but without the need for a laptop.

Be careful with
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2009, 01:28 PM
scarper's Avatar
scarper (Mart)
Aimlessly Reflecting

scarper is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 79
what version of remote shooting are u using white rabbit as the newer version doesnt have that capabilty ....well if it does I cant find it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-06-2009, 01:08 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,127
I found that this function is disabled if you have mirror loclup enabled but returns when it is disabled. That is with a 1000D. Can't speak for other models.
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-06-2009, 10:24 AM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Peter is correct, you need to disable mirror lockup (unfortunately!)

Regards,
Humayun
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-06-2009, 03:05 PM
scarper's Avatar
scarper (Mart)
Aimlessly Reflecting

scarper is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 79
Cool I will try that when I get home
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement