Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 13-02-2009, 04:40 PM
Terry B's Avatar
Terry B
Country living & viewing

Terry B is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Armidale
Posts: 2,760
Capturing video from EOS live view

For anyone that can read russian there is a program here
http://valexvir.narod.ru/

that will capture the live view images.
Might be very useful for planetary and spectra imaging.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-02-2009, 08:09 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry B View Post
For anyone that can read russian there is a program here
http://valexvir.narod.ru/

that will capture the live view images.
Might be very useful for planetary and spectra imaging.
Hmmm - I can't read Russian, but sounds intriguing.......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-02-2009, 02:57 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,082
Live view to Video - YES!!!!!!

The same question was asked overhere in the UK.
The answer is yes! Just plug it in with the standard TV cable which came with the camera. The LED display is dis-connected (ie blank to save batteries-they say)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-02-2009, 08:54 AM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
Talking

Quote:
The LED display is dis-connected (ie blank to save batteries-they say)
Nyet!!!....iz take ova by komrade komputer program to run Kannon kamera for benefit of proletariat masses. Not to see amerikanski imperialist eyes for finding out wat we do. That iz why skreen is blank, da!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-02-2009, 09:40 AM
spearo's Avatar
spearo (Frank)
accepts all donations

spearo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Braidwood (outskirts)
Posts: 2,280
for what its worth:
i copied the link and pasted it into the Babel web site and it translated the page, poorly but better than what my knoledge of Russian allows me to understand...which is Ziltch...
frank
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-02-2009, 09:00 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Merlin- what do you do then with the video stream - record to a video camera?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-02-2009, 09:29 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
Download it to your computer.....it'll be an .avi file.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-02-2009, 11:32 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Me no comprendo. I don't own a video camera, and I can't see how I could get a video lead to plug into my laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-02-2009, 11:51 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
Me no comprendo. I don't own a video camera, and I can't see how I could get a video lead to plug into my laptop?
Use a Video to USB capture box/dongle. You can pick one up here... Scorpion Technology or goto Harvey Norman, Dick Smith Powerhouse or any decent computer store. They should have one. Or, if it's a video being recorded by your DSLR, just stream it via a USB cable straight into the computer after it's recorded on your camera's flash card.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-02-2009, 04:37 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,082
TV connect V's Video

http://translate.google.com/translat...ir.narod.ru%2f

OK there seems to be two things here.
1. You can connect the LiveView to the TV using the supplied cable and get the TV display for guiding/ focussing etc. If you want to record it you'll need a VCR (or equivalent)....
2. The other is this russian hack program which allows you to connect ( with the USB connector) to the PC and download ( as AVI) to your HD...
I can't verify as I'm still using a 350D
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15-02-2009, 08:40 AM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
http://translate.google.com/translat...ir.narod.ru%2f

OK there seems to be two things here.
1. You can connect the LiveView to the TV using the supplied cable and get the TV display for guiding/ focussing etc. If you want to record it you'll need a VCR (or equivalent)....
2. The other is this russian hack program which allows you to connect ( with the USB connector) to the PC and download ( as AVI) to your HD...
I can't verify as I'm still using a 350D
Hope this helps.
Thank you Sir! Had thought about doing a translate but can never remember how to do it......
Embarrased to say hadn't even considered Option 1, but Option 2 is what I was daydreaming/hoping about.
Will have to give it a go. My webcam is very basic, so might be my best chance for some work on Saturn in coming months.

p.s. Love the odd Russian word that's still in the translation!

"If you think that would only interfere with Autofocus, to put a manual focus lens, if it avtofokusny. "

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15-02-2009, 10:03 AM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
What sort of connector does Canon supply for LiveView connection to a TV...composite or S-Video??
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15-02-2009, 10:38 AM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by renormalised View Post
What sort of connector does Canon supply for LiveView connection to a TV...composite or S-Video??
There's a composite (RCA) connector provided - must admit I haven't actually tried it for Liveview to date - only for replaying pics on the TV
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15-02-2009, 11:01 AM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
Ah....well like I said before. Since LiveView is streaming video, all you need is a capture stick/dongle (they come with composite connectors) and a capture program (even Windows Movie Maker will do...at a pinch, not recommended). You can then record directly off your camera to your PC. No need for some Russkie hack, which has no warranty or guarantee on it and may stuff your camera up.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15-02-2009, 02:24 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Have just downloaded this and had a play with it on my laptop. It does what it says on the packet - opens a Liveview window that monitors the camera in realtime over a USB connection. Hit "Write" and it appears to record about 20fps AVI (20sec gave me a 100mb AVI file). Ummmm - I'm getting more excited!

The version I'm using is in English, which makes me wonder if this has been leaked from Canon somehow.

Appears to use far less compression (if any) over the old Sony P200 I was using (recorded MPEG). Have just also checked out DSLR and barlow connections on my OTA and can reach focus ok. I'm thinking Saturn next chance I get. I've been wondering how I could up my planetary capability a bit in the absence of a Toucam - this looks like a great freeware option at this early point in time....
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15-02-2009, 02:29 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Just trawling about the net there seems to be a growing number of bemused photographers wondering why you'd want to record video on a DSLR without sound, plus the odd astronomy forum just waking up to the possibilities. I'd be interested to hear how others go with this too.

(p.s. no hack changes to camera required, and I haven't been able to find any sign of viruses, etc in executable)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15-02-2009, 02:37 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
What is the quality of the .avi's you're downloading??. The acid test will be when you try it out on one of the planets. Although I can see quite a few applications for this. Namely rock steady planetary pics taken from .avi's straight out of your camera...and at high res' too. 10-12mpix beats 300kpix from a DMK/DBK21, for sure. Should prove interesting to see what results you get.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15-02-2009, 07:02 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
It lists the 450D as 848x560 on the translated Russian page, so I don't think we're talking 12 megapixels here.....
Still, I'm hoping for a bit of competition with a decent webcam.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15-02-2009, 07:42 PM
ozskywatcher (Paul)
Registered User

ozskywatcher is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canberra
Posts: 110
Does Canon have software to let you capture the live view video?

Maybe Canon has some software on their site? I will try emailing Canon Australia when I have time and asking them.

Regards,

Paul Floyd.
www.nightskyonline.info
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15-02-2009, 07:51 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
It lists the 450D as 848x560 on the translated Russian page, so I don't think we're talking 12 megapixels here.....
Still, I'm hoping for a bit of competition with a decent webcam.
True.....but that's still better than the DMK/DBK cameras.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement