#1  
Old 17-11-2015, 11:58 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Question Electronic interference in subs

Hi all,

See attached image showing banding in the image. Every image has different banding. I'm fairly sure this is due to electrical interference but where to look? Any suggestions?

Power input is from a clean UPS. Not aware of cabling changes which would have occurred for this to become a problem.

ST-10XME
Paramount
etc.

Thanks,
Roger.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (ngc 1097_1179824_Lum_009.jpg)
162.4 KB33 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-11-2015, 12:26 PM
gary
Registered User

gary is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mt. Kuring-Gai
Posts: 5,300
Hi Roger,

To help eliminate sources, you might first want to try making an image
without the mount tracking.

Best Regards

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-11-2015, 12:29 PM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,337
It might be worth changing the USB cable and see if that helps. It does look like electrical interference I agree, I guess if a USB change doesn't help it could be internal as opposed to the cable itself.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-11-2015, 12:29 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary View Post
Hi Roger,

To help eliminate sources, you might first want to try making an image
without the mount tracking.

Best Regards

Gary
Excellent idea. And if that fails, with focuser powered off, and anything else I can find to be turned off while the camera is still operational.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-11-2015, 12:31 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atmos View Post
It might be worth changing the USB cable and see if that helps. It does look like electrical interference I agree, I guess if a USB change doesn't help it could be internal as opposed to the cable itself.
Good idea, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-11-2015, 06:37 PM
jenchris's Avatar
jenchris (Jennifer)
Registered User

jenchris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ormeau Gold Coast
Posts: 2,067
Do you get it with the flats or darks?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-11-2015, 09:47 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenchris View Post
Do you get it with the flats or darks?
Very good question.

There is in some, but not very many. Seems to be in just one batch of 20 and 40 second second dark frames from the 26th October. Newer and older ones look OK.

I wondered for a moment if the lines in the luminance frames could be introduced by those darks but the lines vary between luminance frances. The luminance frames are from last night, so different day to the 26th and much more recent.

No flat frames have the electronic noise.

There are dark dark frames from last night which show none of the interference at all So last night, only some luminance frames have the noise.

Hmm.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-11-2015, 01:18 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,127
FWIW I recently encountered so odd horizontal noise which occurred out of the blue with a CCD scope/mount combo that had worked without issue for ages. It went away after I loaded the latest drivers. I can only speculate that something in a recent Windows update had caused it.
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-11-2015, 05:46 AM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,472
You can also get that look from cloud affected subs.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-11-2015, 07:07 AM
vlazg's Avatar
vlazg (George)
Registered User

vlazg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Darwin
Posts: 555
Have you tried a different power source for the camera ?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18-11-2015, 09:26 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmrid View Post
FWIW I recently encountered so odd horizontal noise which occurred out of the blue with a CCD scope/mount combo that had worked without issue for ages. It went away after I loaded the latest drivers. I can only speculate that something in a recent Windows update had caused it.
Peter
Interesting. Something else for me to investigate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
You can also get that look from cloud affected subs.

Greg.
I've been quite particular about checking the quality of subs, darks and flats. I think I can rule out cloud and such in this case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlazg View Post
Have you tried a different power source for the camera ?
Yes, we originally thought the problem was a dirty power board or UPS which had failed. REplaced those and thought we had initial success but it is still there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement