Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61  
Old 05-09-2013, 01:49 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,291
David,

Good luck with your new toy. If I can assist you don't hesitate to contact me.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 05-09-2013, 09:37 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRejto View Post
David,

Good luck with your new toy. If I can assist you don't hesitate to contact me.

Peter
I am sure to have a heap of questions - thanks
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 06-09-2013, 11:54 AM
johnnyt123 (John)
Registered User

johnnyt123 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belmore, NSW
Posts: 359
I just bought the QSI 683wsg-8 and i am very impressed with its build quality, the design and its performance.

wish i could say the same about my LRGB processing skills. Such a steep learning curve over one shot colour...

Good luck with your choice
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 06-09-2013, 12:00 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyt123 View Post
I just bought the QSI 683wsg-8 and i am very impressed with its build quality, the design and its performance.

wish i could say the same about my LRGB processing skills. Such a steep learning curve over one shot colour...

Good luck with your choice
best of luck, i wanted not to fiddle with the filters and wanted an extra one or two - that meant more than 8 and givent the scopes i own and would like to own i wanted the flexibility to use the one camera. nothing wrong with the QSI
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 24-09-2013, 10:38 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
update - I am just waiting on a 6nm HA filter for the carousel then the unit will be shipped over to Australia , there are no filters available at the minute....
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 18-10-2013, 03:07 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
Ok i have been asked as to what order to have the filters. I have on order L,R,G,B,C, Ha6, Ha12, O111, S11 . So what is the best order to have things?
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 18-10-2013, 03:32 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
I have on order L,R,G,B,C, Ha6, Ha12, O111, S11 . So what is the best order to have things?
I'd suggest putting them in the same order as your capture program expects, Dave, unless you enjoy surprises

Taking tongue out of cheek... it doesn't really matter unless the wheel is very slow to move. Just put them in any order that makes sense to you.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 18-10-2013, 03:50 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickS View Post
I'd suggest putting them in the same order as your capture program expects, Dave, unless you enjoy surprises

Taking tongue out of cheek... it doesn't really matter unless the wheel is very slow to move. Just put them in any order that makes sense to you.
Not being used to a capture program that doesn't use a dslr I haven't a clue so thanks for the advice
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 18-10-2013, 04:03 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
I would use Lum:R:G:B:Ha:SII:OIII followed by what ever else.
Allan
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 18-10-2013, 04:15 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
Not being used to a capture program that doesn't use a dslr I haven't a clue so thanks for the advice
All the programs I have used let you list the filters in any order you like.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 18-10-2013, 05:11 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
thank you for the advice. I am so looking forward to get this camera - i want things to be right.......
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 18-10-2013, 08:25 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
with help i decided

From position 1 through to 10

1.) L
2.) R
3.) G
4.) B
5.) Clear
6.) Ha6
7.) Ha12
8.) SII
9.) OII
10) spare
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 18-10-2013, 08:45 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,584
Sounds good
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 18-10-2013, 10:16 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,291
Hi David,

At first I found setting up the filter wheel a bit confusing. Not so much the order of the filters, but since every user will have different filters in different order it is necessary to create an .ini file (g2ccd2.ini) that is placed in every folder that might contain the camera driver. So, if you use the Moravian program called SIPS to image with you would place the file there.

My file (it's just a text file with .ini instead of .txt) reads as follows for my 5 filters. Just follow the same convention:

[filters]
Luminance, Black
Red, LRed
Green, LGreen
Blue, LBlue
Ha, LGray

This is discussed in the camera manual. Things may be changed as my manual/camera is more than 2 years old. I just looked at the download of the Moravian site and I see there is a "filter Setup Tool" which I've never used. Perhaps this is automated now!


http://www.gxccd.com/cat?id=150&lang=409

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 18-10-2013, 10:50 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRejto View Post
Hi David,

At first I found setting up the filter wheel a bit confusing. Not so much the order of the filters, but since every user will have different filters in different order it is necessary to create an .ini file (g2ccd2.ini) that is placed in every folder that might contain the camera driver. So, if you use the Moravian program called SIPS to image with you would place the file there.

My file (it's just a text file with .ini instead of .txt) reads as follows for my 5 filters. Just follow the same convention:

[filters]
Luminance, Black
Red, LRed
Green, LGreen
Blue, LBlue
Ha, LGray

This is discussed in the camera manual. Things may be changed as my manual/camera is more than 2 years old. I just looked at the download of the Moravian site and I see there is a "filter Setup Tool" which I've never used. Perhaps this is automated now!


http://www.gxccd.com/cat?id=150&lang=409

Peter
thanks Peter that's great advice
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 25-10-2013, 11:12 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
wooo hoo its left Europe and is on its way to Australia!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 31-10-2013, 11:55 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
just found out its landed at Astroshop and will be sent to my secret mailbag today - HAPPY DAYS.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 31-10-2013, 01:15 PM
ozstronomer's Avatar
ozstronomer (Geoff)
Registered User

ozstronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 950
Great news David, I'm sure you will be happy with the purchase.

I use Sequence Generator Pro for Capture with my G2-8300 and it works a treat. Filters are defined in SGP to match your filter wheel and can be changed anytime.

Setup is straight forward but PM me if you want to check on anything with the Camera/Software

Cheers Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 31-10-2013, 01:27 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
just found out its landed at Astroshop and will be sent to my secret mailbag today - HAPPY DAYS.
Yeeeah baby welcome to the....dark......complica ted and confusing side

Great stuff Houghy ...even more goodies to pack into your wagon

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 31-10-2013, 05:34 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozstronomer View Post
Great news David, I'm sure you will be happy with the purchase.

I use Sequence Generator Pro for Capture with my G2-8300 and it works a treat. Filters are defined in SGP to match your filter wheel and can be changed anytime.

Setup is straight forward but PM me if you want to check on anything with the Camera/Software

Cheers Geoff
thanks Geoff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement