#1  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:04 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Registax Help

I've tried over and over again on the data I captured this morning and I keep getting this.
Registax started going funny when I was working on Mars last night, it took 4 tries at stacking and finally had to do a reload of the software to get a final image out of it.
why why why why ????
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (defective-saturn.jpg)
161.8 KB69 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:33 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Trying it yet again. I asked it to select the 2000 best frames, and it only chose 784.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:46 AM
luigi
Registered User

luigi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 438
I assume you are using Registax 6.

For planets in my case it always works fine if you align by center of gravity, if you use align points it does funny things.

If you are already using center of gravity and the results are still bad one workaround is to use Avistakker2 to stack and then load the result in Registax6 for wavelets and final processing.

Avistakker works fine and is fast. I use it for moon images.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:56 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Cheers, I'll give the Center of Gravity setting a try.
At the moment I'm reextracting the image sequence from the avi. Starting with fresh data.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2012, 10:03 AM
sheeny's Avatar
sheeny (Al)
Spam Hunter

sheeny is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oberon NSW
Posts: 12,716
Nettie, that type of artifact looks like it could be one of two things.

1. You are using multiple alignment points and the alignment "boxes" are too close together or overlapping. try spacing them out or using smaller alignment boxes.

2. You have some dropped frames in your video which are included as black frames. MY DMK used to drop dropped frames completely from the video, buit I notice with the newer drivers it keeps them in there but they are black. There's a couple of things you can do here:

a. If you are using a webcam type camera, make sure your HDD has plenty of free space and is defragged. I actually get rid of all my previous session files off my lappy so it doesn't waste time looking for a clear sector (which may cause dropped frames).

b. Once you have dropped frames in your video, try alternate initial alignment frames to see if you can stop registax from picking them up. Also try making a reference frame from say the best 10 frames before optimising. Often I find the reference frame will pick up dropped frames, but the final optimisation pass won't. It doesn't work all the time, but you try all sorts of thing to recover data, don't we?

As for the number of frames selected, where are you telling to select the best 2000? Are you using registax 6 (cause I have no experience with it yet)? registax will usually cut off at a specified quality, but you can over ride it by manually moving the cut off slider before you select Limit on the Align tab.

Al.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2012, 10:15 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Ha ha, I think my data is too awesome for Registax to handle. (that is my excuse and I'm sticking to it)
Downloading Avistack2 now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2012, 10:19 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Al, the data is from my Canon 550d. I'm using the same settings as I've always used with Registax. Which makes me think it's the data causing the problems.
I've spent literally hours and hours trying to find out what is going wrong here, and why.
It's strange how this has happened all of a sudden eh.
I might try reconverting my .mov file.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2012, 10:22 AM
alocky's Avatar
alocky (Andrew lockwood)
PI popular people's front

alocky is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,287
When I switched from registax 5 to 6 - one simple thing that caught me out is you have to click the 'set alignment points' tab at the top left after loading the avi. Then you slide the slider across until you've got somewhere from 60 to 100 and let it go. I've found for planets the defaults are pretty good. Of course, if your data manifests excessive awesomeness, you may need to apply an appropriate pre-filter
cheers,
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2012, 03:27 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,430
Dump Registax altogether. It is slow and clunky, has been for years.

AS!2 is what you want for planetary processing. Fast, no more stacking artifacts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2012, 04:50 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Paul, AS!2 = AviStakker2 ??
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-04-2012, 05:05 PM
asimov's Avatar
asimov (John)
Planet photographer

asimov is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bundaberg
Posts: 8,819
As Paul said. Registax was fine until something better came along; & that's Autostakkert (AS!2).

http://www.autostakkert.com/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-2012, 06:11 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,430
John got in before me.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-04-2012, 07:19 PM
alocky's Avatar
alocky (Andrew lockwood)
PI popular people's front

alocky is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,287
Good call - just downloaded and tried autostakkert on yesterday's solar mosaic. It's as close to idiot proof as I need - absolutely painless. One question - what do you use for post processing then? It seems I still need registax for the wavelet enhancement step? (Sorry for the attempted thread hijack..)
cheers,
Andrew.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-04-2012, 08:21 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,430
I no longer use wavelets in my processing. I use deconvolution only for sharpening. I do use the sharpening function in AS!2 though.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-04-2012, 08:56 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
I'm onto my 4th codec, trying to find one that AS!2 will read.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Am downloading Castrator now. Hoping this will help. lol Castrator won't read any of the .avi's either.

Update. Managed finally to get AS!2 to accept .bmps.

Last edited by jjjnettie; 10-04-2012 at 12:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-04-2012, 12:28 AM
luigi
Registered User

luigi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjnettie View Post
I'm onto my 4th codec, trying to find one that AS!2 will read.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Am downloading Castrator now. Hoping this will help. lol Castrator won't read any of the .avi's either.

Update. Managed finally to get AS!2 to accept .bmps.
I use avidemux to convert the Avi to mpeg4 encoding then use castrator to read that and the output of castrator is friendly to both Avistakker2 and Registax.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-04-2012, 10:16 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Thanks Luis, I'll give it a go.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement