Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Old 01-03-2007, 08:10 AM
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

Question about astro photography from a newb.

HI Guys/Gals.

I'm pretty new to amature astronomy having only bought my Meade ETX125 (shoulda got the meade 12" lightbridge but thats next ) at Xmas last year. I've been thinking of getting a web cam for the scope.

So here is my question.
If I buy a camera of some sort for the scope am I correct in assuming that my EP's cannot be used and that at the most I will only really be able to use a barlow? So I'm stuck with the normal magnification of the scope and can only increase this using a barlow? If so are there special EP's that can be bought that a web cam can fit into/onto.
I'm thinking about the Tocam web cam to start off with and if I enjoy that I may upgrade later to a DSLR.

Sorry that was more than one question.

Thanks
Sandy
Old 01-03-2007, 09:04 AM
merlin8r
Astro Shop Minion

When it comes to imagers, magnification is based on chip size. A smaller chip=greater magnification. For example, the Meade LPI is about the equivalent to a 6mm eyepiece, plenty of magnification for your ETX. On good steady nights you can add a barlow to the mix, giving you much more magnification. Hope this helps.

Clear skies,
Shane
Old 01-03-2007, 09:08 AM
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

Hi Sandy.

If you are using an ETX then you should be able to fit the webcam at the straight through position and an eyepiece at the top and use the flip mirror to swap between the two. You may need to get a T adapter for the webcam to do this. You won't be able to use a barlow in this situation unfortunately. As for increasing magnification, you can use a barlow to increase but it would have to go where your eyepiece would normally go. Or you can use a technique called eyepiece projection (if you have enough range of focus with your focuse knob).