#1  
Old 18-07-2019, 08:22 AM
Ge-off (Geoffery)
Registered User

Ge-off is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wingham NSW Australia
Posts: 2
Dobsom Dream Go To

I have an 8" Dobson sky watcher which I up graded with a new Dobson Dream Go To for $190 on ebay. But I can not get it to work, downloaded the apps many times, had unit shipped back to manufacturer for fault finding who shipped it back without explanation. Has anyone had luck getting these Go To to work? Or have I got what I paid for?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-07-2019, 09:37 AM
gaseous (Patrick)
Registered User

gaseous is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 513
Never heard of this Dream goto upgrade kit you refer to, but $190 sounds way too cheap. A ridgey didge goto upgrade kit for a skywatcher dob is well over $1000 minimum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-07-2019, 09:45 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,884
Is this the one? It is push-to....



On the other hand, AU$250 is rougly the cost of DIY (Bartels, OnSTEP etc., with encoders).
And, OnSTEP has fantastic support, even on this forum.
Bartels (older system) is very well documented, support is also available

Last edited by bojan; 18-07-2019 at 10:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-07-2019, 11:09 AM
mental4astro's Avatar
mental4astro (Alexander)
kids+wife+scopes=happyman

mental4astro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 4,618
Geoff, in being a push-to system, YOU do the moving of the telescope. The kit you bought uses encoders and an interface to talk to your phone or computer using programs such as Sky Safari, so you move to scope to the desired object.

What is wrong in the Ebay ad is the use of the word "automation" which implies a go-to system. But the ad does say it is a push-to system.

The encoders are not gears to move the scope. They are just counters that are used to help position the scope relative to the sky.

This system can be very effective in locating objects. After you go through an alignment procedure, you just need to select the object you want to find, and then move the scope following the directions given to you by Sky Safari or whatever program/app you are using. I use another push-to system with my various dobs, the Nexus DSC from Astro Devices. I use this with my 8", 12" & 17.5" dobs. Go-to is not necessary. A push-to system can be all you may actually need to help you find stuff in the sky The differences between different push-to systems includes the quality and resolution (number of steps it counts) of the encoders. Your encoders have 4096 steps per 360 revolution, which is modest but still very usable. I would suggest using your lowest magnification eyepiece in your scope when first locating any object, and once you have it centered in your scope you can then change to higher magnification if you like.

Alex.

PS, your first post on IIS too!

Last edited by mental4astro; 18-07-2019 at 11:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-07-2019, 07:46 PM
mental4astro's Avatar
mental4astro (Alexander)
kids+wife+scopes=happyman

mental4astro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 4,618
Geoff???

Not what you wanted to hear?

Have you given the system you bought a try now knowing this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-07-2019, 10:54 PM
Ukastronomer's Avatar
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 1,221
Yes as it says

"It helps observers to accurately and quickly find objects in the night sky.
In this case, the telescope tube is pointed to the object manually, until the crosshair in the planetarium program coincides with the desired object."

Sounds a useful addition



.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-07-2019, 10:11 AM
Davearmen (Dave Armen)
Registered User

Davearmen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6
It's not a GoTo, it is a push to
It should work, although accuracy is a bit bit off on those.
Look up push to setups on youtube.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-07-2019, 06:14 PM
Ukastronomer's Avatar
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 1,221
I assume the original poster has........................ left
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2019, 10:43 AM
Ge-off (Geoffery)
Registered User

Ge-off is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wingham NSW Australia
Posts: 2
Yep, that's the one and yes I got fooled by the automation wording and I got what I paid for. More junk in my shed. But thank you for pointing out it's a push to only for I just didn't know. Once the obvious was pointed out it all made sense so back to the drawing board.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2019, 11:47 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ge-off View Post
Yep, that's the one and yes I got fooled by the automation wording and I got what I paid for. More junk in my shed. But thank you for pointing out it's a push to only for I just didn't know. Once the obvious was pointed out it all made sense so back to the drawing board.
There is nothing wrong with push-to per se.

You have couple of options to start from where you are now:
- use it as is (you probably need some sort of comp or Android smart phone for that.. and Planetarium software (CdC, Stellarium.. etc. freeware.)
- Ek's box (in case you can't make your existing software to work) and associated software (all Freeware, comp needed)

- Bartelization (GoTo, Freeware, comp + steppers needed)

- Sound stepper (GoTo or Push-to, Freeeware, comp with audio card needed, + steppers)

- OnSTEP (Freeware, Arduino based, + steppers)

- Some other Arduino (or whatever) GoTo project (there are plenty)


There are plenty of people on this forum who may help you with all of the above.

Last edited by bojan; 02-08-2019 at 12:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-08-2019, 03:30 PM
Ukastronomer's Avatar
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ge-off View Post
Yep, that's the one and yes I got fooled by the automation wording and I got what I paid for. More junk in my shed. But thank you for pointing out it's a push to only for I just didn't know. Once the obvious was pointed out it all made sense so back to the drawing board.
Junk, JUNK, a scope like that JUNK I think not
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement