#1  
Old 27-06-2014, 04:22 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,392
106 FSQED with reducer QE to f3.6 Questions

Hi all,

I have recently purchased a 106 FSQED with the reducer QE that gives me an f ratio of f3.6. I have a few questions to think about prior to its arrival. As we all know Takahashi diagrams are not very informative and I am wondering about distances and vignetting.

1. Will the above reducer illuminate an 11002 sensor without vignetting? Or will I need the more expensive reducer which is 4"? I am not planning an immediate change over of camera but will eventually want to use a large format camera on the scope given its credentials.

2. Do I install the reducer straight onto the focusor and then the rotator in the reducer metal back distance?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-06-2014, 04:25 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,409
Good choice of scope.

Yes and Yes.

I used to image with the reducer and a 16803 chip with no problem. Flats correct any minor vignetting.

You need the bucket adapter. It sits the reducer back inside the focuser.

Example images with a 16803 camera:

http://www.pbase.com/gregbradley/image/102416400
http://www.pbase.com/gregbradley/image/124761790

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-06-2014, 04:32 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,392
What does the adapter look like Greg?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-06-2014, 04:47 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,409
I have one here. I'll take a photo of it. I'll see also if I have a photo of it connected to the scope.

http://www.pbase.com/gregbradley/image/139757161

Greg.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Tak reducer adapter small.jpg)
59.0 KB18 views

Last edited by gregbradley; 27-06-2014 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-06-2014, 04:58 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
I have one here. I'll take a photo of it. I'll see also if I have a photo of it connected to the scope.

http://www.pbase.com/gregbradley/image/139757161

Greg.
That looks like it goes under the camera angle adjuster. I don't have the CAA. I chose not to get that as I will be using a pyxis rotator.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-06-2014, 05:07 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,409
Yes perhaps. Not sure Paul. It may also go on the end of the focuser but it may have been because I was using the CAA. I am pretty sure the thread on the end of the focuser is the same as the thread on the end of the CAA. Best check on Tak Uncensored Yahoo Group. These sorts of questions come up all the time.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement