#1  
Old 29-03-2011, 09:24 PM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Maxim Guiding - Very odd!

I have been wrestling with Maxim a bit of late - there have been a few posts on this previously - but this is new. And quite peculiar.

When calibrating with Maxim, the guide star obviously moves - but the system won't recognise it. The co-ordinates stay the same even though the star moves.

This happens in one axis, but not the other.

Any thoughts on this? Seems a bit weird to me

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-03-2011, 04:22 PM
OzRob's Avatar
OzRob (Rob)
Registered User

OzRob is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Thailand
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvelez View Post
I have been wrestling with Maxim a bit of late - there have been a few posts on this previously - but this is new. And quite peculiar.

When calibrating with Maxim, the guide star obviously moves - but the system won't recognise it. The co-ordinates stay the same even though the star moves.

This happens in one axis, but not the other.

Any thoughts on this? Seems a bit weird to me

Pete
I have had this numerous times. In my case the program does not recognise the movement at all. The only way I have been able to resolve it is by closing down Maxim and re-opening it. I hope someone can shed some light on what is happening.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-03-2011, 04:49 PM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Thanks Rob

its really odd - the star moves but the program doesn't recognise it. But its only in 1 axis. I get a lovely red line in the other

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-03-2011, 10:33 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
When I have had this happen its usually in a crowded star field or I have not indicated the guidestar properly or the gain on the camera has been too high and maxim is having trouble picking the star from the noise. Open the info window and run the mouse over the area where the guide star is. You might find the difference in ADU's is very small even though maxim maxim is displaying a distinct difference. Try changing the settings on your guide cam to maximise the difference and see if that helps, it usually works for me,

Cheers

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-03-2011, 03:34 AM
leinad's Avatar
leinad
Registered User

leinad is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,307
Take a screen shot of your guider settings panel.
You havent changed any settings by any chance?
Are you using GPUSB or Guider relays?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-03-2011, 08:09 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by marki View Post
When I have had this happen its usually in a crowded star field or I have not indicated the guidestar properly or the gain on the camera has been too high and maxim is having trouble picking the star from the noise. Open the info window and run the mouse over the area where the guide star is. You might find the difference in ADU's is very small even though maxim maxim is displaying a distinct difference. Try changing the settings on your guide cam to maximise the difference and see if that helps, it usually works for me,

Cheers

Mark
Thanks Mark

I assumed it was the fact that Maxim was confused by the noise. I am using a Star Shoot Autoguider and its pretty noisy. I wasn't sure how to change the setting for this - there is a pop up for gain. I'll drop that and see if that makes a difference

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-03-2011, 08:11 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by leinad View Post
Take a screen shot of your guider settings panel.
You havent changed any settings by any chance?
Are you using GPUSB or Guider relays?
I'll not be out with it again till Saturday - weather permitting as usual.

If I have no joy, I'll definitely post a screen shot. I am working with Guider relays. Any suggestions for other settings woudl be most welcome

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-03-2011, 09:10 AM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,771
It could be latching onto hot pixels, use auto darks on the guidecam.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-03-2011, 01:19 PM
Benny L (Ben)
Registered User

Benny L is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carmel - Perth Hills
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassnut View Post
It could be latching onto hot pixels, use auto darks on the guidecam.
^^ This I found that if I didn't use auto darks I had that exact problem
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2011, 06:31 PM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
OK

there must be another solution - the guide star moves about 10% of the screen length and still Maxim thinks its on the same pixel.

Have tried different parts of the sky and autodarks as well as shutting down and restarting.

What else can I do?

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-04-2011, 07:33 PM
Moon's Avatar
Moon (James)
This sentence is false

Moon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,147
Quote:
What else can I do?
It would help if you could post some screen prints of your settings.
Here are some guesses:
- bin the camera 2x2
- use the auto dark feature
- use a brighter star
- try a longer exposure
Once you get it working, it's rock solid.
James
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-04-2011, 07:37 PM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Thanks James

I was trying to use my Stellarvue finder with a 2x barlow - clearly not enough SNR as the screen remained grainy. I expect Maxim didn't like that at all.

I've switched to the trusty Orion ST80 and its working now.

Might be time for an OAG.

Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement