Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Old 18-03-2019, 01:11 PM
Outcast (Carlton)
Always gonna be a NOOB...

Astrophotography Rig Advice

I'm still starting out on my AP journey; I have managed some short exposure shots on my Alt/Az Meade LX90, I have started on some solar imaging with my LUNT solarscope & I have recently acquired a Celestron CG5 Adv GT EQ mount.

I have also accumulated some cameras along the way...

I'm relatively happy with what I have achieved thus far; I've begun to stack multiple images, process videos for planetary & lunar & am slowly getting my head around software such as Autostakkert, DSS, Registax & Startools. I have along way to go in all areas but, am looking to progress a little further towards longer exposure shots.

My initial plan is to get my head around my EQ mount & do some longer exposure shots using an 80mm ST Refractor. I'm aware of both the scope and my mount's limitations but, this is about taking small steps, learning the basics & then progressing to the next step when I have the basics sorted.

I am however, beginning to look around at an imaging scope & ultimately using the 80mm Orion for guiding... What I am unsure about is in which direction to go... so, what are my priorities?

I'm glad you asked, here are my priorities in order of importance:

1. Portability & simplicity of setup & use
2. Relative 'compactness' for storage at home
3. Budget / Value for money
4. Usefulness for occasional visual use as a grab & go
5. Ability to be mounted on something like the Sky Adventurer (or similar) to enable travelling with the rig overseas (Not the highest priority)

Options currently being considered:

1. 80mm - 100mm APO - not the cheapest option I know but, portable & relatively simple

2. 130mm - 150mm Newtonian - a little bigger in terms of storage & portability but, fairly inexpensive.