#1  
Old 22-04-2014, 10:13 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,289
My ST-i

My ST-i shutter is failing. It returns a dark frame perhaps 1/20 exposures. Silly
y question to ask but is my only hope of getting a fix a return of camera to the USA?

Peter

Last edited by PRejto; 22-04-2014 at 11:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-04-2014, 11:18 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,329
One thing to check Peter is the power to the camera from the usb port. I found that the camera prefers a direct connection with the computer rather than through a hub. Through a hub, the shutter would one half open and close and do other crazy stuff. No problem with a direct connection.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-04-2014, 11:41 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Haese View Post
One thing to check Peter is the power to the camera from the usb port. I found that the camera prefers a direct connection with the computer rather than through a hub. Through a hub, the shutter would one half open and close and do other crazy stuff. No problem with a direct connection.

Thanks for that Paul! It is running through a hub, but it's the same hub that I have used with it for the last 2 years or so. But now I'm powering it from the MEII control panel 5 volt output and there has been a problem with that in that when I would shut down mains power to the mount the MKS board would sound alarms!! Turns out that 5 volts was going back from the computer, through the hub and into the 5 volt supply on the control panel. Not good!! I put a diode in the positive 5 volt lead and it cured the problem completely....however it has dropped the voltage to 4.5. Maybe that is the problem with the shutter.

I'd solve all of this if I were willing to strip down the mount and run more cables. I really don't want to do this but may have no choice.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-04-2014, 07:57 AM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Flaxton, Qld
Posts: 1,640
I've also found this camera to be sensitive to USB connections. I've had no luck using USB 3 ports for example. However using a powered USB hub, with a USB 2 port works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-04-2014, 11:43 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,289
Well it seems it was the reduced voltage I was running the hub at that caused the shutter problem. I replaced the hub today with a little Targus powered hub and all the problems have gone away with the ST-i and the MEII bells and whistles have stopped on mount shut down.

Thanks guys for the tips.

Peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement