ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Last Quarter
41.3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
3:01 pm
Perth
12:01 pm
Auckland*
5:01 pm
New York
11:01 pm
Paris
5:01 am
GMT
4:01 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Astronomy Books and Media

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 17-07-2017, 04:56 PM
DavidU's Avatar
DavidU (Dave)
Like to learn

DavidU is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,656
New Horizons NASA video of Pluto flyover

Spectacular stuff

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1fPhhTT2Oo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-07-2017, 02:36 PM
el_draco's Avatar
el_draco (Rom)
Politically incorrect.

el_draco is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tasmania (South end)
Posts: 2,106
Puts it into nice perspective I think. Wonder what Clyde would have thought...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-07-2017, 06:01 PM
Kunama's Avatar
Kunama (Matt)
TakAttacksRule

Kunama is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canberra
Posts: 3,111
Spectacular indeed, it is fitting that New Horizons carries with it Clyde's ashes to Pluto and beyond.

Pluto will always be a planet in my book..... these images serve only to reinforce that.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2017, 05:49 PM
jimmyh1555 (James)
jimmyh1555

jimmyh1555 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: George Town TAS
Posts: 80
pluto fly by

That cant be real.....can it?? That's absolutely mind blowing, photos transmitted back to Earth millions of miles. It MUST be heavily photoshopped, surely
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2017, 01:47 AM
OICURMT's Avatar
OICURMT
Oh, I See You Are Empty!

OICURMT is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Laramie, WY - United States of America
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyh1555 View Post
That cant be real.....can it?? That's absolutely mind blowing, photos transmitted back to Earth millions of miles. It MUST be heavily photoshopped, surely
Quote:
Published on Jul 14, 2017
Using actual New Horizons data and digital elevation models of Pluto and its largest moon Charon, mission scientists have created flyover movies that offer spectacular new perspectives of the many unusual features that were discovered and which have reshaped our views of the Pluto system from a vantage point even closer than the spacecraft itself.

This dramatic Pluto flyover begins over the highlands to the southwest of the great expanse of nitrogen ice plain informally named Sputnik Planitia. The viewer first passes over the western margin of Sputnik, where it borders the dark, cratered terrain of Cthulhu Macula, with the blocky mountain ranges located within the plains seen on the right. The tour moves north past the rugged and fractured highlands of Voyager Terra and then turns southward over Pioneer Terra -- which exhibits deep and wide pits -- before concluding over the bladed terrain of Tartarus Dorsa in the far east of the encounter hemisphere.

Digital mapping and rendering were performed by Paul Schenk and John Blackwell of the Lunar and Planetary Institute in Houston.

If you read the desciption, the video is computer generated using digital elevation data. The colors were enhanced...

No photoshop required...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement