Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29-02-2016, 10:16 AM
Blu (Vijay)

Wink Requesting help in finding galaxies and planeteries advice

Hi everyone,

I am a complete newbie to this. I have a saxon 10inch dob F/4.7 which I use only from my backyard in Shepparton, Victoria. I have not linked in with any astronomy club or other amateurs and have been doing this on my own in my free-time slowly (very slowly) finding my way around the night sky. I am interested in DSOs and iceinspace and other forums have been my primary resource. However, I seem to have hit a snag. I have not been able to spot any planetaries or galaxies (not LMC/SMC) and I would appreciate any advice on easy to find DSOs (except open clusters) considering I am looking from my backyard.

In relation to DSOs, so far I have seen M41, M42, M43, M44, M45, M78, M79, C79, C84, NGC2808, Omega Centauri, Jewel Box cluster, Eta Carinae Nebula, Running Chicken Nebula (I think so..I can see the cluster but can't quite make out the nebulosity), Tu 47, either C104 or NGC361, and Tarantula Nebula. I have particularly tried finding Centaurus A and Blue Planetary repeatedly without any success.

Please please give me suggestions

Vijay
Old 29-02-2016, 10:39 AM
glend (Glen)

A good nebula filter is useful for all the usual bright nebulas that you can see visually. These filters bring out the cloud detail.
As far as galaxies are concerned, try to work on the brightest ones first, like M104, M83, etc but they are only rising to a decent altitude after 3am right now. Centarus A is fairly bright and can be found very close to the east of Omega Centauri. Just keep working at it, and use a good planetarium app to guide you. Galaxies will be faint objects so use your averted vision , ie don't look directly at it but use your good black and white side vision to spot it. Centarus A may show up better with a light pollution reduction filter.