Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-09-2006, 08:28 AM
"O"

another newbie with boring 1st scope questions ...

Hi All,

I am at the stage of gathering information to
buy my first scope.

I am studying the sky with planisphere/charts, naked eye, binocular, and
have attended a viewing with an astronomical group.

Straight away, I knew what type of scope I want.
Small and portable. Even at a sacrify.

I certainly can see in Brian (Miaplacidus)'s
artical about scope that the best scope is the one that
you use the most.

So this will either be a short tube refractor or
a small Mak/SCT

I have read a bit about telescope and the pros and the cons
of each type.

I now would appreciate a specific information:
Please suggest a specific model of a good/higher
quality scope of either type above. Also which
brands are regarded as maker of high quality eye pieces.

If there is a model with good and reliable computerized system,
that would be a bonus ( I like the Nextar 4GT style but have
no idea if they are good )

Particularly if they are available at these local shops.
http://www.sirius-optics.com.au/
http://www.yorkoptical.com.au/
http://www.staroptics.com.au/

Much appreciate any help.
"O"
Old 04-09-2006, 08:36 AM
wavelandscott (Scott)
Plays well with others!

Can you put a bit more detail around "small and portable"?

The reason I ask is that small and portable means different things to different people...for me, if I can "fit" it into the car I call it "portable"...

While I have no specific recommendation to make (I'm a Dob kind of guy for now) I don't think I can add much more to your quest...

Good Luck in the search!
Old 04-09-2006, 08:45 AM
acropolite (Phil)