ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-02-2013, 10:34 PM
acj

Hello & a query

Good Evening,

My name's Aaron & I came across this forum while searching for images of images of the Aurora Australis taken in Melbourne.

This forum is a wealth of information & the images I've seen are stunning. Kudos to the community!

I've always been fascinated by Aurora & never realised they could be seen from Melbourne.

I've been doing a bit of reading on viewing conditions etc but thought maybe I'd ask the question here.

Supposing tonight aligned with a new moon, was cloudless & I was as as far south as I could go in Vic & away from artificial lights, would the attached Kp reading be conducive to viewing/photographing an Aurora?

Many Thanks,
Aaron
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (07 Jan 2230.jpg)
71.1 KB23 views
Old 08-02-2013, 04:00 PM
colinmlegg (Colin)

Hi Aaron,

I'm no expert ... but the 2 things I look for are the Kp and Bz numbers. Generally Kp should be 4 or above and Bz pointing south (-ve). The more -ve Bz, the better. In terms of those circles, Activity 9 roughly relates to Kp 4 and 10 to Kp 5 or above.

The other thing to watch for are potential solar wind stream impacts with Earth. These can be due to Coronal holes, or CMEs (Coronal Mass Ejections). A number of spacecraft are out there monitoring these things and the data is fed into models that give real time predictions of likely impacts. Like Earth weather models, there is a degree of uncertainly, so they should be taken as indications rather than gospel.

http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/wsa-enlil/

Another site worth following is the Facebook Tasmania Aurora Group. They get pretty active when events happen and are a great resource for links and such.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/2150...01328/?fref=ts