ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
77.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:18 am
Perth
11:18 pm
Auckland*
4:18 am
New York
10:18 am
Paris
4:18 pm
GMT
3:18 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > IceInSpace > Website Feedback and FAQ

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 07-06-2018, 08:03 PM
Jeff's Avatar
Jeff
Starry Eyed

Jeff is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wonga Park
Posts: 669
200kb image size restrictions

Hi Terry/Mike,

Just wondering if it might time to once again review the 200kb image size restriction? It was last increased to 200kb over 10 years ago now.

I'm guessing that storage capacities/costs have improved quite a bit over the period, along with processing and network. Average CCD/CMOS sensor sizes seem to be bigger now also.

I'm a big fan of AstroBin (and the like) for posting and sharing full res images, but it would be magnificent if we could somehow ease the size restriction for sharing and appreciating lower res images.

If cost is a constraint, I would be happy to make some sort of contribution towards a capacity upgrade. We get heaps from IIS for free.

This is just an idea.
IIS is such a terrific site, and I am extremely appreciative.
Relaxed restrictions for sharing low res images would make it even better.

Cheers,
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2018, 09:31 PM
AndyG's Avatar
AndyG (Andy)
No. I am a meat popsicle.

AndyG is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Townsville
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
Hi Terry/Mike,

Just wondering if it might time to once again review the 200kb image size restriction? It was last increased to 200kb over 10 years ago now...
...If cost is a constraint, I would be happy to make some sort of contribution towards a capacity upgrade. We get heaps from IIS for free...
Cheers,
Jeff

Beautifully written Jeff,
I was thinking just the same recently. As Astrocams, smartphones, DSLRs etc, get meaner in filesize, it makes for a greater task to actually reduce the files to a size ingestable by IIS. I have a graphic design degree, so it's trivial here. Others may not be so comfortable. It would be nice to have a service that could accept "contemporary" filesizes (or closer to such), making it easier on less computer savy folk. Improved quality images improve the "art", needless to say.



I haven't been here long, but I can't stress how much I enjoy, and have learned from, this site and it's inhabitants. I would be happy to make a small donation, and I suspect many others would, to meet the ends described above. Many hands (and wallets), make light work (or outlay).



Best regards,
Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2018, 07:47 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 16,903
Astrobin, pbase, onedrive and numerous other service already provide this. You also can have your own web space with FTP like many already do for highres photos. IIS is a forum platform not a storage facility IMHO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement