Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > General Chat
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-02-2020, 08:27 AM
Kev11 (Kevin)

Paypal Legals

Like most people I suppose, I had never read Paypal's T&Cs. However changes notices seem to be coming thick and fast so I thought I would read the latest (or rather glance through the 47 pages full of links to other multi-page web documents - must be hundreds of pages altogether).

I am a retired accountant so have some knowledge of contract law, but for the average Paypal user this stuff is a nightmare.

Why is it necessary? The equivalent material from my bank is much more straightforward and my transactions with it are bigger and more complicated.

And fees. I had one (bad) experience a few years ago of selling a domestic item for a few hundred dollars and was slugged 10% of the value. As far as I can see that would seem to be much more than Paypal’s current schedule.

On the other hand, as an on-line purchaser I am happy enough with them and have used the “failed to receive” refund once.

Cheers
Old 08-02-2020, 08:58 AM
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

In my experience, not limited to paypal, the odds are always stacked against the supplier, not the buyer, right or wrong.
Old 08-02-2020, 09:27 AM
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

I will use paypal ONLY to buy items from ebay or companies that offer it. Selling for me is STRICTLY bank transfer or cash in hand because as mentioned paypal is always stacked against the seller.
Old 08-02-2020, 10:17 AM
leon

I'm lucky, I am told constantly to update my details for my PayPal Account, but i don't have one, so go figure that.

Leon
Old 08-02-2020, 11:16 AM
DeWynter (ILYA)

I'm selling photographic prints and license photographic images worldwide. Without PayPal I wouldn't have my business. PayPal fee is evil, but like some insurance I'm ok to pay it.
Old 08-02-2020, 08:37 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag