Old 05-12-2017, 02:26 PM
PRejto (Peter)

Star Substitution Question

I could use a bit of advice please.

For the first time I've imaged a dim galaxy from a dark site. I failed to take into account that in my quest to capture the galaxy I've totally blown out all the brighter stars. When I stretch the galaxy is good but of course the stars are blown and too large. I tried masking the stretch but the result isn't great and there is no way they would have any colour. I think the only way to improve the image will be to replace the stars from a series of much shorter subs. I think if I try this after the images are stretched there will be a size disparity and I'm likely to get an unnatural looking result. Is it somehow possible to do the swap in the linear state perhaps using PixelMath and a star mask. I'm really new to the program so I could use some advice, or a completely different approach to solving the problem. I'm more familiar with CCDStack. Would substituting values likely lead to a good result?

Thanks,
Peter
Old 05-12-2017, 03:30 PM
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

Peter,

Have you tried MaskedStretch? (as opposed to stretching with a mask.) You could blend the stars from a MaskedStretch with a HT stretched galaxy using a mask. It requires some mucking around but it is certainly possible.

Another option is to just reduce the bloated stars after the stretch. I have done this by creating masks for the larger stars/halos then using a little HT and/or Curves reduction. Smaller stars can be reduced with MT and a star mask.

If you push hard enough you might be able to find some colour in those blown out stars. A star mask and big saturation boost is worth a try. Blurring the chrominance of the stars a little with one of the wavelet tools (I typically use MMT) will also help colour up the cores. The new arcsinhstretch tool does a great job of keeping star colour too.