Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Old 24-06-2018, 10:42 AM
RobNevyn (Rob)

Recommendations for low power eyepiece for 10" f/4.7 Dob

I am waiting for my 10" f/4.7 Dob to arrive, and in preparation I am looking to get some eyepieces, it comes with the standard 10mm & 25mm stock Plossl's, I have an ES82 6.7mm, Tele Vue 2x Barlow and looking to get a low powered eyepiece 32mm to 40mm to have a bit or range.
Being relatively new I am still learning and often see caution in relation to fast scopes like mine.
What recommendations would you suggest for a reasonable quality low power EP, around the Explore Scienific kind of budget, will stretch to TeleVue if it would be a long term investment kind of deal.
Many thanks.
Old 24-06-2018, 11:58 AM
The Mekon (John Briggs)

My advice is not to get taken up with obtaining a very wide field with a 10" dob. You will not get brilliant performance at the edges no matter what. What you do need is a quality eyepiece that you will use a lot, so aim for a field of view around 1 degree or maybe a little more.
With a 1200mm FL an 18mm ES will give around 66x and a field of 1.25 degrees, For wider field head for the 24mm 68 degree eyepiece.
Better still, if you can afford it - go for a 17.3mm Delos - these are the best you can get and you will be amazed if you try one.
Old 24-06-2018, 12:13 PM
Wavytone

Edmunds 28mm RKE is still a good low power one for an f/4 dob like yours, despite their age. Still available new for $136 from Edmund.

Or a Plossl.
Old 25-06-2018, 06:44 PM
RobNevyn (Rob)

Thank you for the replies, I have seen the ES68 24mm mentioned a lot and looks to be fair value, I haven't heard much on the 18mm.
Edmunds 28mm RKE looks interesting, I haven't seen that mentioned at all, will do a bit of research on that as it looks like good value.
Old 25-06-2018, 08:50 PM
Wavytone