Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Observational and Visual Astronomy

Old 08-07-2015, 12:54 PM
Alasdair

Observable objects in order of difficulty?

I have just downloaded the "Bambury 600" list, of which I have seen a few with the naked eye, and a few more with binoculars.

I have only recently acquired a 10" telescope, and of course my observing abilities are those of a complete beginner. So I'm wondering if there's a version of the Bambury list sorted by observational difficulty? I appreciate that this is highly subjective, but certainly there are easy bright objects such as the Magellanic clouds, which anybody can see in a dark location, and other objects which require trained eyes and very good scopes to see anything of.

Thanks!
Old 08-07-2015, 01:56 PM
JoelyE95 (Joel)

Alasdair,

Attached is an excel spreadsheet and a PDF ordered by visual magnitude. The smaller the number (ie. -1.5 and 0) the brighter the object. Larger the number (ie. 14.2) the dimmer the object.

With the spreadsheet, you can also order by more than 1 column and can also order by magnitude and best month to observe.

Hope this helps,

Joel

P.s. If you give me a little bit of time, I can give you a document that will show you were each object is in the sky and what the object looks like.
Attached Files
File Type: zip BAM600.zip (134.0 KB, 34 views)

Last edited by JoelyE95; 08-07-2015 at 02:46 PM. Reason: Additional Information
Old 08-07-2015, 03:39 PM
Alasdair

Many thanks - well, as I already have the complete spreadsheet I have taken your advice and ordered it by visual magnitude within each month.

It should have occured to me that visual magnitude is really the defining factor for observability of DSOs; whereas for Lunar observation some things are simply too small to see in any but large telescopes.

Now hoping for a night or two of clear skies!
Old 08-07-2015, 08:15 PM
JoelyE95 (Joel)

Alasdair,