#1  
Old 21-09-2007, 09:50 AM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Using a DSLR for Autoguiding

Hi all,
Having recently bought the Canon 40D, I put my trusty Pentax ist-D up for sale on ebay to generate cash for new lens etc etc. If it doesn't sell I will probably keep it for family stuff.
Question is, could the Pentax be used as a camera for autoguiding. I have an EQ5 + SynScan so all the guts are there and ready to go!
Do any of the free guiding software programs available support DSLRs?

Cheers
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-09-2007, 09:57 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,679
umm no?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-09-2007, 10:05 AM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
hope it sells then!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-09-2007, 11:30 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Umm, no.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-09-2007, 11:33 AM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
I get it!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-09-2007, 11:35 AM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Mods - close this one down, and Nurse pass me my medicine!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-09-2007, 11:40 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
It's not that it wouldn't be possible, I just don't think it has been done as there are much cheaper and simpler options. One problems would be the slow download speed of each frame to your computer, even if using small normal settings. It would be good if you could have a ROI to select, that would speed up the downloads. I don't think there are any autoguiding programs that would work using a DSLR, though K3 can control the camera it wouldn't autoguide off it.

And that is just off the top of my non-techi head.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-09-2007, 11:45 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by [1ponders] View Post
Umm, no.
Must be the onion - I seem to be repeating
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-09-2007, 11:45 AM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by [1ponders] View Post
It's not that it wouldn't be possible, I just don't think it has been done as there are much cheaper and simpler options. One problems would be the slow download speed of each frame to your computer, even if using small normal settings. It would be good if you could have a ROI to select, that would speed up the downloads. I don't think there are any autoguiding programs that would work using a DSLR, though K3 can control the camera it wouldn't autoguide off it.

And that is just off the top of my non-techi head.
Thanks Paul,
After houghy's comment I realised it was a bit of a daft question for the same reasons you have quoted. A webcam's used because of frame rate speed.
Wishful thinking! It's not everyday I have a spare DSLR lying around!
Cheers
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-09-2007, 11:47 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
btw aren't u2 supposed to be at work



and before you comment; yes I am and yes I am.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21-09-2007, 12:05 PM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by [1ponders] View Post
btw aren't u2 supposed to be at work



and before you comment; yes I am and yes I am.
Busted!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21-09-2007, 12:18 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,679
yep I am at krow
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-09-2007, 01:06 PM
DJDD
Registered User

DJDD is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 936
not free but Cyanogen's products seem to suggest they can autoguide with a DSLR?

http://www.cyanogen.com
http://www.cyanogen.com/help/maximdl...g_Tutorial.htm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement