#1  
Old 29-02-2008, 05:10 PM
Geoff45's Avatar
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

Geoff45 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,414
Darks with PHD autoguiding

Has anyone used the "Dark" button on the PHD interface? I presume it's to remove camera noise while autoguiding, but how exactly do you implement it? There is nothing on the help file.
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-02-2008, 05:45 PM
Geoff45's Avatar
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

Geoff45 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,414
OK I think I've worked it out. Click "Take Dark". A message appears "Cover the guide scope". Click "OK". Dark gets taken with whatever exposure you plan to use. I guess this DF is then applied automatically as you expose for guiding. Remove a dark using the "tools" menu.
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-02-2008, 05:49 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Thanks Geoff, great idea. Will try it tonight if it stays clear.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-02-2008, 05:53 PM
Geoff45's Avatar
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

Geoff45 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,414
Hi Mike
Let us know if it works.
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-02-2008, 06:02 PM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
You have it right, it actually gives me a better range of guidestars when using the Q-Guider, eliminates the excess noise from the raw image.

Just remember if you change your exposure time, redo the dark.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-02-2008, 06:09 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnG View Post
You have it right, it actually gives me a better range of guidestars when using the Q-Guider, eliminates the excess noise from the raw image.
Agreed, makes a huge difference with the QGuider.

My only problem then is callibration in PHD with the QGuider is doing weird stuff and not working Yet to try enough times to rule out user stupidity though
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-02-2008, 07:05 PM
Geoff45's Avatar
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

Geoff45 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerg View Post
Agreed, makes a huge difference with the QGuider.

My only problem then is callibration in PHD with the QGuider is doing weird stuff and not working Yet to try enough times to rule out user stupidity though
What sort of exposure on what size guidescope are you using with the Q guider Roger?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-02-2008, 07:48 PM
robin's Avatar
robin
Brave Sir Robin

robin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Warrnambool,Victoria
Posts: 489
Hey guys, on the subject of PHD, I've got it loaded on the laptop & it seems straight forward enough but what platform should I use to get it talking to the LX200GPS? Ive got ASCOM ticked but it seems to be spitting the dummy at that configuration. Any comments would be welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-02-2008, 08:21 PM
Geoff45's Avatar
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

Geoff45 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,414
With my Losmandy I use the GPUSB guide port interface from Shoestring Astronomy . I click this in the PHD "Mount" pull-down menu. It's supposed to work with Meade mounts as well.
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-02-2008, 08:24 PM
robin's Avatar
robin
Brave Sir Robin

robin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Warrnambool,Victoria
Posts: 489
Thanks Geoff, I'll give it a go mate.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-03-2008, 09:13 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghsmith45 View Post
What sort of exposure on what size guidescope are you using with the Q guider Roger?
I'm using a skywatcher 70x700 (F/10) scope as the guidescope with the Q guider.

My problem is a bit of a strange one, the image inside the PHD window jumps around in a strange way when in calibration mode, not what I would expect. I would expect the image to stay still and the stars, and crosshair, move, but the actual image within the "canvas" is moving what appears to be randomly while the cross hair says steady. Bizzar. Next time I get it hapenning (cloudy and daylight going to prohibit that for a bit) I will do some screen prints.

Roger.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-03-2008, 10:46 AM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
Hi Roger

When I calibrate, been a while due to cloud, the cross hair stays still and turns yellow from memory but the background image actually moves North/South/East/West during the calibration routine, on the status bar, it gives you how many steps each move takes. The image gives the impression of moving all over the place but when you watch closely it is not random but in a controlled manner.

If your guide camera is not perfectly setup in the true N/S/E/W directions it will give the impression of moving all over the place. I have found that using the default setting works fine for me. I also force a calibration after each slew.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-03-2008, 01:21 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
Thanks John - that's exactly what I was seeing, sounds like I just need to get used to how PHD does things (to be expected). I'll give it another shot shortly.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-11-2012, 11:57 AM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
Reviving old thread

Hi All,

I revived this thread as it was related but does not explain the problem I am experiencing.

I took a dark capture of the guide scope and when applied the background brightness altered from dark to bright in a bout 5 or 6 steps.
I think it is related to the number of frames captured. Guiding was still good as the Low SNR only occurred during one of the brighter moments then re-guided without much of a miss although there was a couple of moments where the image jumped.

Any offer if a solution?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-11-2012, 03:23 PM
Karls48 (Karl)
Registered User

Karls48 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 753
Never happen to me but you should be able to adjust brightness with slider control bellow the exposure control slider.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-11-2012, 07:19 PM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karls48 View Post
Never happen to me but you should be able to adjust brightness with slider control bellow the exposure control slider.
I have this all the way down to almost minimum but it varies between 5 to 6 levels of brightness. It looses guide when it comes across the highest level.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-11-2012, 08:43 PM
Karls48 (Karl)
Registered User

Karls48 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 753
I don't know - in four years guiding with PHD it never happen to me. And I always take darks. I had occasional problem with PHD crashing and solved it by starting PHD first then Maxim then SkyMap and VNC last.
Did you try redoing darks?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:19 PM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karls48 View Post
Did you try redoing darks?
Yes I had tried but I have just set it up again tonight and will try again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement