ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
18.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:28 pm
Perth
11:28 am
Auckland*
4:28 pm
New York
10:28 pm
Paris
4:28 am
GMT
3:28 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Astronomy and Amateur Science

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 28-08-2017, 04:32 AM
RetEng
Registered User

RetEng is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Supernovae Type 1a Distance Modulus

On website http://web.mit.edu/8.286/www/ps05/e9p5b.html tabular data for redshift and distance moduli are given for almost 200 SN 1as, taken from an earlier paper by Adam Reiss, et al. No specific definition is given for the distance moduli provided but when the data are fed to a standard
distance-modulus-to-distance converter, the distances calculated seem wrong. e.g for SN 1997ff the table value for distance modulus is 45.53
Using a converter formula
10 to the power of (((distance modulus -25)/5))
the calculated distance is 12764 mpc or 41.6 billion light years ! Impossible ! Can anyone suggest how to calculate actual distances from the distance moduli referenced above ? My thanks in advance for a reply.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-08-2017, 10:25 AM
Dave2042's Avatar
Dave2042 (Dave)
Registered User

Dave2042 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newtown, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetEng View Post
On website http://web.mit.edu/8.286/www/ps05/e9p5b.html tabular data for redshift and distance moduli are given for almost 200 SN 1as, taken from an earlier paper by Adam Reiss, et al. No specific definition is given for the distance moduli provided but when the data are fed to a standard
distance-modulus-to-distance converter, the distances calculated seem wrong. e.g for SN 1997ff the table value for distance modulus is 45.53
Using a converter formula
10 to the power of (((distance modulus -25)/5))
the calculated distance is 12764 mpc or 41.6 billion light years ! Impossible ! Can anyone suggest how to calculate actual distances from the distance moduli referenced above ? My thanks in advance for a reply.
Not really an expert, but
  1. a) I think your calculation is correct
  2. b) Remember the metric expansion of space. While the light has only had ~14bn years to travel to us, the distance between us and distant objects has grown as space has expanded since. I think the resulting diameter of the observable universe is ~90bn ly as a result, which amply accommodates your result.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement