Old 25-10-2010, 05:22 PM
strawtermelon (Katerina)

Is this telescope any good?

Im looking to buy my first telescope and Im bamboozled by the information out there..
I want to use it for observational astronomy, although I would also like to try my hand at Astrophotography in the future.
I think I need one that tracks for me? The easier the better really.
I also love the idea of the Go To telescopes..
I want to be able to see comets, galaxies, the moon, planets etc.. and as clearly as possible.
But I don't need anything too pro.. i'm just beginning...

I've found this one.. which i love the look of.. I understand that aperture is the most important factor? and the stability of the stand..

Can anyone tell me if this telescope is any good?.. http://www.meade.com/product_pages/e..._90/etx_90.php
or
http://www.meade.com/product_pages/e...25/etx_125.php

Also, I couldn't find out whether this one tracks for me?

A few details about me, that might help determine the best telescope for me..
*im a perfectionist and very patient, however I do want to sometimes just go to my telescope and have it show me what I want to see.. hence the Goto feature i like the look of.
*Im technically minded, Im an artist and I love gadgets.
*I live away from bright lights in the Dandenong Ranges in Melbournes East..
*I dont drive and I dont live up any flights of stairs, however I dont want anything too cumbersome.
*I would love to be able to use my telescope during the day as well.
*Im not a fan of the look of dobsonian telescopes..

Thanks
Kat

Last edited by strawtermelon; 25-10-2010 at 05:45 PM. Reason: Added Info about me.
Old 25-10-2010, 06:46 PM
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

yes both of these track for you..they do not have much aperture..i have an etx90 as my travel/camping scope..if i am going somewhere if fits easily.
The etx125 is a much better astro scope - but it is still smallish in terms of todays big mirrors. If you want easy its a pretty decent choice