ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
90.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
12:30 pm
Perth
10:30 am
Auckland
2:30 pm
New York*
10:30 pm
Paris*
4:30 am
GMT
2:30 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > IceTrade Classifieds > Telescopes & Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 14-04-2018, 06:52 PM
Nocturn (Phill)
Registered User

Nocturn is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: bundaberg , Australia
Posts: 4
Three Telescope Permanent Piers

Hi, I have three permanent piers for sale.
They are easily capable of carrying either a large fork mount or fully loaded EQ5 or EQ6 mount.
The base is heavy cast aluminium and the tube is 1/4" wall thickness aluminium, and used to be parts of a sugar centrifuge and have some pitting, scrapes, and dents from their previous life.

For installation all that is required is to dig a hole 600mm square, by 600mm deep, fill it with concrete, then set the foundation plate into it so that it is level and aligned with the south celestial pole as marked.
The pier is later bolted to the foundation plate, and a pier adaptor is the fitted to the top levelling plate.

If manufacturers drawings of bolt hole pattern and sizes for a pier adaptor, fork mount base, or wedge can be supplied, then I will drill and tap the top plate to suit at no extra cost before sending the pier.
The three piers differ cosmetically only and are priced at $650,$750 and $850 accordingly, and below are some examples of quotes which I got on line for freight.

Crate dimensions and weight:

length 1100 mm
Width 400mm x 400MM
Total weight 45KG

Bundaberg to:
Adelade $ 120
Perth $ 186
Brisbane $ 58
Sydney $ 78
Warwick $ 41
Cootamundra $ 120


https://www.transdirect.com.au/quotes/bookings/5524910

Any Questions give me a call 04 234 99 325
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Pier 3.jpg)
78.1 KB147 views
Click for full-size image (Pier 6.jpg)
64.3 KB141 views
Click for full-size image (Pitting 2.jpg)
77.0 KB122 views
Click for full-size image (Scratch 2.jpg)
32.9 KB116 views
Click for full-size image (650.jpg)
40.0 KB158 views
Click for full-size image (750.jpg)
38.7 KB132 views
Click for full-size image (850.jpg)
36.3 KB144 views
Click for full-size image (Pier Main.JPG)
60.0 KB139 views

Last edited by Nocturn; 14-04-2018 at 07:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
IceTrade Classifieds is a free service provided to IceInSpace members to help encourage and promote astronomy in our community.
  #2  
Old 16-04-2018, 05:14 PM
carlstronomy (Carl)
Registered User

carlstronomy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 249
Phill,

I am currently looking at pier for my NEQ6, deciding if to buy or build. These do look like a good unit but I must be honest I am a little confused in the pricing.
There does not look to be much difference in the three except the surface finish but the there is a staggering price difference of $200 between the three, can you possibly clarify as the three are exactly the same size.
Does one have inferior quality in material and thus lacking in strength for this price difference.

Thanks
Carl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-04-2018, 10:00 PM
Nocturn (Phill)
Registered User

Nocturn is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: bundaberg , Australia
Posts: 4
Hi Carl,
the differences between the three piers are only in appearance.
They are all the same material and strength, but the $850 pier has never been used and only has some minor blemishes. The other two have some pitting caused by sugar crystals hitting them. Erosion not corrosion.
Would be happy to send some more detailed pictures of them if you would like.
Cheers
Phill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement