ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
90.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
12:39 pm
Perth
10:39 am
Auckland
2:39 pm
New York*
10:39 pm
Paris*
4:39 am
GMT
2:39 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 15-04-2018, 06:41 PM
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 951
Meridian flip and guiding in one direction

Is it possible to use the meridian flip option in SGP/PHD2 for mounts where DEC guiding is only in one direction?

I usually keep the DEC polar alignment slightly off and then guide in only in one direction for DEC (on NEQ6) to avoid the backlash problems. After a manual meridian flip I have to manually change the direction of the DEC guiding, for example from N to S (or the other way around).

Last two nights I tried automatic meridian flip with SGP and PHD2. After the flip the DEC drifted one way while the PHD was set to do the corrections the other way. The result was that the SGP stopped the sequence while waiting for the guide star to get centered which of course never happened.

The night before I tried the option "Reverse DEC output after meridian flip" in PHD2 but that did not work either. I don't think that is needed with the EQASCOM which handles the meridian changes automatically.

To summarise, how to do automatic meridian flips when the DEC guiding is in one direction only?

Thanks in advance
Luka
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dec, guiding, meridian flip

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement