Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 15-05-2013, 05:05 PM
Astroliver (Oliver)
Registered User

Astroliver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kalgoorlie, Australia
Posts: 19
Canon 60Da, where can i find a reliable place to buy it?

Hi Guys

I have recently been searching for an upgrade from my Canon 400D and I have had my eye on the canon 60Da. Does anyone know a reliable to buy this product from?

Many thanks
Oliver
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-05-2013, 05:29 PM
Rod771's Avatar
Rod771 (Rod)
Turn the lights off!

Rod771 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Parklea NSW
Posts: 1,207
Hi Oliver

I bought mine from Digital Camera warehouse. They're a Canon Australia distributor. They didn't have one in stock but it only took 2 weeks to get one in.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-05-2013, 01:16 AM
Astroliver (Oliver)
Registered User

Astroliver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kalgoorlie, Australia
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod771 View Post
Hi Oliver

I bought mine from Digital Camera warehouse. They're a Canon Australia distributor. They didn't have one in stock but it only took 2 weeks to get one in.
Hi Rod

Thanks for that. Do you think it is worth the purchase? I'm strongly considering..just a bit pricey

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-05-2013, 03:52 PM
Rod771's Avatar
Rod771 (Rod)
Turn the lights off!

Rod771 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Parklea NSW
Posts: 1,207
I'm very happy with mine.

I did consider the 6D but as I was intending to use the camera with the hyperstar lens, I decided to go with the 60Da as it is a bit lighter than the 6D.

Here's a some pics using the 60Da

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=107178

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=104403
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-05-2013, 04:32 PM
Astroliver (Oliver)
Registered User

Astroliver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kalgoorlie, Australia
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod771 View Post
I'm very happy with mine.

I did consider the 6D but as I was intending to use the camera with the hyperstar lens, I decided to go with the 60Da as it is a bit lighter than the 6D.

Here's a some pics using the 60Da

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=107178

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=104403
Wow! Those are amazing! Brilliant pictures, thanks for sharing Rod

How do the images come out before editing? Much noise?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-05-2013, 05:25 PM
Rod771's Avatar
Rod771 (Rod)
Turn the lights off!

Rod771 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Parklea NSW
Posts: 1,207
Thanks Mate.

I don't set the iso too high here at home (North western Sydney)
especially before I got the Light pollution filter. So the noise is very minimal for those shots.

The above shots were both taken at home, orion without LP filter
and M8 M20 with filter.

Here's a 20 sec exposure of orion from IISAC at Lostock. ISO 800 F2

I know your thinking of the 6D and I have to say I wish I had one as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (ORION_LIGHT_20s_800iso_+25c_180220130413-20h54m34s165ms.jpg)
41.4 KB53 views
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-05-2013, 11:06 PM
Astroliver (Oliver)
Registered User

Astroliver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kalgoorlie, Australia
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod771 View Post
Thanks Mate.

I don't set the iso too high here at home (North western Sydney)
especially before I got the Light pollution filter. So the noise is very minimal for those shots.

The above shots were both taken at home, orion without LP filter
and M8 M20 with filter.

Here's a 20 sec exposure of orion from IISAC at Lostock. ISO 800 F2

I know your thinking of the 6D and I have to say I wish I had one as well.
Hmm, I see. Thanks for that Rob! Is that picture of orion is totally unedited?

Also, if you were to put you in my situation, would you buy the 6D?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-05-2013, 01:19 AM
Rod771's Avatar
Rod771 (Rod)
Turn the lights off!

Rod771 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Parklea NSW
Posts: 1,207
No probs

The Orion pic is a full RAW straight out of the camera. No processing. Dont forget your looking at a compressed Jpeg, I can assure
you that the full raw is very smooth , but also, its a 20 second exposure not a 5 minute or a 10 minute. I haven't done any prime imaging at F10/F7 yet, so I don't have much of a reference regarding noise at that length.

Have a read through this , it might help you

https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&r...GoyblZ9LxtguFw

I was in your situation however we all have different requirements.

I considered the 6D but it had just been released and was a further $600 dollars on top of the 60Da price. Plus the full frame wasn't suitable with the hyperstar lens with the largest usable sensor diagonal dimension being 27mm.

The 6D is a way better camera and if you want to do mainly nightscapes then It would be the way to go. But if you just purely want it for asrtophography and no daytime shots, @ 2K plus, I'd start looking at CCD camera's

Last edited by Rod771; 17-05-2013 at 07:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-05-2013, 01:18 PM
Astroliver (Oliver)
Registered User

Astroliver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kalgoorlie, Australia
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod771 View Post
No probs

The Orion pic is a full RAW straight out of the camera. No processing. Dont forget your looking at a compressed Jpeg, I can assure
you that the full raw is very smooth , but also, its a 20 second exposure not a 5 minute or a 10 minute. I haven't done any prime imaging at F10/F7 yet, so I don't have much of a reference regarding noise at that length.

Have a read through this , it might help you

https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&r...GoyblZ9LxtguFw

I was in your situation however we all have different requirements.

I considered the 6D but it had just been released and was a further $600 dollars on top of the 60Da price. Plus the full frame wasn't suitable with the hyperstar lens with the largest usable sensor diagonal dimension being 27mm.

The 6D is a way better camera and if you want to do mainly nightscapes then It would be the way to go. But if you just purely want it for asrtophography and no daytime shots, @ 2K plus, I'd start looking at CCD camera's
Thanks for this advice Rod, I much appreciate it

But isn't a full frame sensor a better light bucket and wouldnt make a difference if you attached it to the hyperstar? What would then happen if you attached the 6D to the hyperstar?

Sorry, I just want to get my head around this
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-05-2013, 01:29 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
If the useable sensor dimension is 27mm, then the Hyperstar will vignette, really, really badly on a 35mm sensor. You will have approximately 20% of your image tending towards black on the edges. I don't think that even the best flat frames would be able to fix that.

H
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18-05-2013, 01:49 PM
Rod771's Avatar
Rod771 (Rod)
Turn the lights off!

Rod771 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Parklea NSW
Posts: 1,207
Edit: What H said, he updated while I was writing.

You could use the 6D on the hyperstar, there's just no advantage of the full frame. The edges would be unusable. The image would have huge vignetting and would have to be cropped.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19-05-2013, 03:13 PM
Astroliver (Oliver)
Registered User

Astroliver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kalgoorlie, Australia
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod771 View Post
Edit: What H said, he updated while I was writing.

You could use the 6D on the hyperstar, there's just no advantage of the full frame. The edges would be unusable. The image would have huge vignetting and would have to be cropped.
Thanks guys! I now understand this Does the 6D have a mode where you adjust the portion of the sensor used?

Just an idea
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19-05-2013, 05:30 PM
Rod771's Avatar
Rod771 (Rod)
Turn the lights off!

Rod771 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Parklea NSW
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astroliver View Post
Thanks guys! I now understand this Does the 6D have a mode where you adjust the portion of the sensor used?

Just an idea
The 60Da has , so I assume the 6D would. But again, still no advantage of having the full frame.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19-05-2013, 09:25 PM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,564
Has anyone tried http://www.spencerscamera.com/store/...Category_ID=14

A service to not only change the IR filter but instal some form of cooling (I presume a peltier) directly to the CCD?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement