#1  
Old 14-06-2009, 10:01 AM
TrevorW
Registered User

TrevorW is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,995
Memory Corrupted

I have a 4gb CF card in my canon 350d last night I was imaging for nearly 2 hrs

temp got damn cold and plenty of dew

this morning when I went to download the images from the camera at first it displayed "no images" then corrupted data

Anyone else had this happen

I'm trying to recovery the images now

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-06-2009, 10:56 AM
dpastern (Dave Pastern)
PI cult member

dpastern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,874
Trevor,

Try this software:

http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/PhotoRec

It's free, and it *works*. If the data is possibly recoverable, this'll do it.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-06-2009, 01:09 PM
TrevorW
Registered User

TrevorW is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,995
Recovering the images isn't the problem actually but thanks anyhow I was just wondering if anyone else has stuck this problem before

1st time ever happened

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-11-2009, 03:28 PM
kinetic's Avatar
kinetic (Steve)
ATMer and Saganist

kinetic is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide S.A.
Posts: 2,260
I've had this exact problem today...an SD card failed to load and
we thought we had lost this morning's DSLR images of the kids
putting up the Xmas tree

Thanks to Dave's advice below, I've recovered about half of today's
images and maybe the rest are corrupted...but that is something
at least!
It is still recovering stuff as I write this..even old deleted files on the SD card.
It says it has 5hrs to run until it has completed!

Thanks Dave!

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-11-2009, 03:54 PM
dpastern (Dave Pastern)
PI cult member

dpastern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,874
No problem Steve! testdisk etc are REALLY good pieces of software.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-11-2009, 07:07 PM
Astrobserver99's Avatar
Astrobserver99 (Rob)
Starlit Night

Astrobserver99 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, Victoria
Posts: 505
That's why I always download directly to the laptop while imaging
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-11-2009, 08:29 PM
Benny L (Ben)
Registered User

Benny L is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carmel - Perth Hills
Posts: 303
i swap my CF/SD cards over every 2 years.. can't afford to have problems with them dying on me :S.

In any case they are always backed up onto a portable HDD like an Epson P5000 or I'll shoot tethered to a computer..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement