ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
5.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
4:40 am
Perth
1:40 am
Auckland*
6:40 am
New York
12:40 pm
Paris
6:40 pm
GMT
5:40 pm




  #1  
Old 24-09-2017, 09:08 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 29,172
insulation success

with the help of my son we managed to insulate the roof of the shed where i store some of my astro stuff and have a fridge etc. the heat in there during summer is unbearable - normally but it is now several degrees cooler inside. made a huge difference. this weekend was a huge test being so hot. as for the product i fully recommend its possibilities for your observatory
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG20170922064615.jpg)
119.5 KB83 views
Click for full-size image (IMG20170922064808.jpg)
140.6 KB78 views
Click for full-size image (IMG20170923144438.jpg)
197.2 KB90 views
Click for full-size image (IMG20170923144505.jpg)
186.2 KB109 views
Click for full-size image (IMG20170923164644.jpg)
194.3 KB101 views
Click for full-size image (IMG20170923144750.jpg)
185.2 KB92 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-09-2017, 08:00 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20,507
Thanks for the update Dave, good stuff.
Gee, Bradley's grown huh, hardly recognised him.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-09-2017, 08:05 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,536
How does it attach to the roof Dave?

Been thinking to make a little "Tardis" to keep in the yard over the pier etc and this stuff should do the insulation trick.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-09-2017, 09:12 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 29,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewisM View Post
How does it attach to the roof Dave?

Been thinking to make a little "Tardis" to keep in the yard over the pier etc and this stuff should do the insulation trick.
A screw and a very wide spacer or washer. The whole sheet only weighs 1.4kg, also the special insulation duct tape when aligning the other sheet
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-09-2017, 09:13 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 29,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by RB View Post
Thanks for the update Dave, good stuff.
Gee, Bradley's grown huh, hardly recognised him.

Yep he is taller than me but just as stupid at times
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-09-2017, 12:11 PM
Shano592's Avatar
Shano592 (Shane)
#6363

Shano592 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Coast NSW
Posts: 1,009
That looks good, Dave.

When we were living in Perth, summer was a bummer, with up to 3 consecutive weeks over 35 degrees.

The back shed was our office, and was unbearable, as you note.

I had a mate who was working at a polystyrene place, and he arranged for a huge delivery of 2-inch thick polystyrene rejects (there was a tiny line running down them). It cost me a bottle of Jack Daniels to get enough delivered, to cover the inside of the roof, all the walls and the doors. To stick it, I used industrial strength liquid nails.

Then I cut a hole in the wall and fitted a small aircon unit. On 43 degree days, it was a lovely 25 degrees inside.

Finally, I ran phone and network cables underground from the house, and my job was done.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-09-2017, 12:31 PM
xstream's Avatar
xstream (John)
Grey Nomad

xstream is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: "Where ever the wind blows".
Posts: 5,689
Foil board is an excellent product Dave.
What thickness did you go with 10mm, 15mm or 25mm?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-09-2017, 01:53 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 29,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by xstream View Post
Foil board is an excellent product Dave.
What thickness did you go with 10mm, 15mm or 25mm?
25 mm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement