Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 20-07-2014, 12:41 AM
Eden (Brett)
Registered Rambler

Starlight Xpress Active Optics and PHD, minus Lodestar/Lodestar2

Hi all,

I have purchased an Starlight Xpress AO-LF and I understand that it can be operated via PHD 2.x without a Lodestar/Lodestar2 camera.

Is there anyone here running an SXV-AO in this configuration and if so, which camera are you using in lieu of a Lodestar and what sort of results are you getting?

I realize the choices of alternate guiding camera are limited because of the way the SXV-AO is designed but I have a QHY5L-II here which I am hoping will do the job.

Cheers!
Old 20-07-2014, 09:15 PM
gregbradley

I am interested in how you find this unit as I am planning to get one soon.

I am not an expert in AO units but I did have the idea they operate best at maxmimum hertz (cycles per second) and that requires a bright guide star and a sensitive guide camera.

As such I think it could be limiting the effectiveness of the unit if you used a less sensitive guide camera.

I would consider the Lodestar X2 for that job. Perhaps an SBI STi.

Greg.
Old 20-07-2014, 10:56 PM
Eden (Brett)
Registered Rambler

G'day Greg,

Quote:
I am interested in how you find this unit as I am planning to get one soon.
As soon as the weather permits I'll be putting together a thorough review and will post it here. In the meantime, you might be interested to check out some images taken by this gentleman over at Astrobin:

http://www.astrobin.com/32169/

Most of his work was done with the SXV-AO, a fairly modest camera (QHY9 Mono) and Meade LX200 12". From my limited imaging experience they look pretty good to me and should give you some sort of an idea what to expect. I think a with AO/without AO comparison is in order though.

Quote: