Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 24-02-2008, 12:07 AM
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Hi im a newbie

Hello everyone im new here and nice site by the way i love the emoticons
Well a little about me im from Swan Hill Victoria so the sky is the limit here in the country woohooo any way so ive been a bit of a star gazer for quite some time now i dont know much but i know enough to work my way around the sky if i got lost lol and i would be rich by now wif the amounts of time I say dam i wish I had a telescope hehe anyway woohooo hubby finally bought me one for my birthday last month god bless him isnt he wonderful i have a skywatcher 150mm x 1000mm newtonian reflector (no idea how good it it but dam it looks cool) i was told its ok for a newbie and that was the best one available in the town at the time sooooo of i went and waited for it to get dark then dam it cloudy skys for the first week ok so i waited patiently for the next weekend
WEEK 2 woohoo skys were clear moon was awsome this scope is cool but when i woke up in the morning i had over 50 dam mozzie bites all over me so first stop was the supermarket get aeroguard woohoo Sat nite had a ball wif it found a few nebulas, mars was pretty plane just an orange ball, and Saturn was so beautiful i could see the rings for the first time i was in my eliment Saturn is my fav planet then i did an all niter and waited for Jupiter and Venus too arrive omg this was amazing jupiter looked so cool but now i want a better scope already i wanna see more and venus was so bright i need some filters i think (do they help) how do u know what color filters are for viewing what)