Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 26-11-2010, 02:30 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Canon updates firmware for EOS 7D and EOS 550D

A heads-up for people who own these cameras that Canon has released firmware updates for your enjoyment.

Firmware 1.2.3 for the EOS 7D addresses some flash sync issues which particularly affect macro imagers, and firmware 1.0.9 for the EOS 550D addresses some ALO tonal gradation issues (I don't use this feature on the 5D Mark II, as I really don't like what it does and therefore have it disabled by default in camera; if I need it, I enable it through Digital Photo Professional during RAW processing).

Download EOS 7D update here.
Download EOS 550D update here.

H

Last edited by Octane; 26-11-2010 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-11-2010, 02:32 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Cheers H.
Shame it wont' fix my flash problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-11-2010, 02:33 PM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,898
Thanks H – I’ll download the 7D update.

I haven’t had any (noticeable) issues with flash and macro photography, although I haven’t used the MR14-EX with the 7D yet.

Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-11-2010, 05:00 PM
En1gma's Avatar
En1gma (Robert)
Registered User

En1gma is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 336
Thanks for the heads up H,

Jjj, what issue are you having with your flash?. As canon have a known issue whereby the bodies will determine there is an external flash connected when there isnt. Is this your problem?

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-11-2010, 05:27 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
I'm having problems getting the built in flash to work.
I have to raise it manually now.
Maybe I've accidently changed the settings, I'll have a proper read of the manual first before taking things further.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-11-2010, 06:11 AM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjnettie View Post
I'm having problems getting the built in flash to work.
I have to raise it manually now.
Maybe I've accidently changed the settings, I'll have a proper read of the manual first before taking things further.
Hi Jeanette

Maybe the built in flash only pops up when you are in one of the fully automatic “happy snap” modes where the camera decides everything for you? When it figures there isn’t enough light or it decides to use fill in flash, it pops up the built in flash unit automatically?

When you switch to say, M, Tv or Av then the camera assumes you know what you are doing and will only pop up the flash manually if you want to use it after pressing the button?

Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-11-2010, 03:55 PM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,988
jjj, look in the menu settings under Flash Control Flash/Flash Firing;

if you have it set to disable the flash won't fire. (you may have set to disable for astro use)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-11-2010, 03:44 PM
En1gma's Avatar
En1gma (Robert)
Registered User

En1gma is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 336
Also,

If your pressing the flash button and not receiving a response in any mode.

Get a thin piece of metal, e.g xacto. And swipes it under the right hotshoe mount. There is a little switch there that is known to get stuck.

Rob.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-11-2010, 04:32 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
The flash is working in auto mode again.
If it happens again, I'll send it in to be looked at.
Had troubles with autofocus as well last week.
Thought at first it was because of low battery, then thought the lens might be at fault.
Camera could be a lemon?????
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement