#1  
Old 20-08-2009, 04:04 PM
Paul K
Registered User

Paul K is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Forbes, Australia
Posts: 58
Orion StarShoot Pro V2.0 ?

Hi all, I'm contemplating aquiring an Orion StarShoot Pro V2.0... I'm currently using a Canon 450D unmodified...and I'm getting mixed results...My question is, would I see a marked improvement by using the dedicated camera over the 450D...??..Long exposures on the 450D tend to develop artifacts after...5 ~10 minutes.....(examples posted on this site) and as my main interests are the feint fuzzies... and I need the longer exposures for those....

Any suggestions most welcome

Regards
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-08-2009, 04:12 PM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,301
If it is the same camera as the QHY8, (is it??) then I would suggest it will be an appreciable difference. If it is the same/similar camera, then why not just get the QHY8, you have a great dealer in Oz.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-08-2009, 04:16 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
It's the same chip and virtually a similar camera.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-08-2009, 04:27 PM
koputai's Avatar
koputai (Jason)
Registered User

koputai is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 1,633
Doesn't the Orion SSPV2 use the ICX413 which is interlaced, and the QHY-8 uses the ICX453, which is progressive?
This makes them quite different beasts.

Cheers,
Jason.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-08-2009, 04:59 PM
AlexN's Avatar
AlexN
Tunnel Vision

AlexN is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6,708
It is a similar chip, but also very different as Jason mentioned. the Orion is Interlaced, where as the QHY8 is progressive scan. the Orion's cooling is somewhat less effective than the QHY8, however its power consumption is much lower too...

I have had both, results wise, the QHY8 images are slightly less noisy.. I never used darks with the QHY8, with the Orion I use between 3 and 5 dark frames. I find the results as far as colour response and signal to be comparable, if not exactly the same...

The Orion is louder, as it uses a smaller fan... Its also quite a bit bigger in physical size too..

All in all, for most intents and purposes, the Orion and the QHY8 are much the same...

Yes I think you would see a marked improvement over DSLR imaging if you bought either the QHY8 or the Orion SS Pro V2

I've run up to 30 minute exposures with both cameras and found neither to exhibit any artefacts or defects as a result...

Best of luck with your decision!

Alex.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-08-2009, 05:02 PM
Moon's Avatar
Moon (James)
This sentence is false

Moon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,147
Let me pose a similar question. I am currently using a Nikon D50 which I believe has a Sony ICX413AQ sensor - the same sensor as the Orion StarShoot Pro V2.0.
Right now my biggest issues are:
1. Amp glow
2. No way to control exposures from the Laptop
3. No live view for focusing

If I did decide to go down this 'upgrade' path, I would be rather disappointed if I was still getting amp glow. Is this a function of the sensor or other elements of the camera design??

A Canon 1000D seems like a cheaper option that could possibly resolve my 3 key issues.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-08-2009, 05:06 PM
AlexN's Avatar
AlexN
Tunnel Vision

AlexN is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6,708
the Orion does not suffer from amp glow. Its amp is disabled during exposure, and only powered during data transfer...

The Nikon D50 does use the same sensor as the Orion SS Pro 2, and your 3 problems, whilst addressed by buying a Canon 1000D, would also be addressed by getting either the QHY8 or the Orion..

Other issues you'll run into with the 1000D:
Noise - You will need lots of darks.
No cooling - you will need more darks.
Ha Response - you will need to modify the 1000D to capture Ha wavelengths

All of those are addressed with the Orion or QHY8 too..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-08-2009, 05:16 PM
Paul K
Registered User

Paul K is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Forbes, Australia
Posts: 58
Thank you gentlemen for all your input, probably leaning towards the QHY8...I'm getting intermittant artifact on my longer exposures....get very frustrating....

Again Thanks
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement