#1  
Old 19-03-2012, 07:50 PM
Carl
Registered User

Carl is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alans Flat
Posts: 373
Power supply for Moonlight stepper motor

Ok this is going to sound dumb so feel free to insult me.
Just got my new Moonlite focuser and stepper motor. It sates that it runs off standard 12volt DC. They include an AC adapter with universal plug to work in any country.
Am i right in presuming i dont just plug this into my household power supply but i have to use the same type of 12volt motor that powers my EQ6 mount?

Electronics were never my strengths

regrads
Carl
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-03-2012, 08:24 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,161
Carl, I just ran another lead off my 12V supply that drives the mount, 2 cameras, tripod leg warning LEDs, and laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-03-2012, 10:08 PM
COSMOPARADISE's Avatar
COSMOPARADISE (Nick)
Nick Ulich

COSMOPARADISE is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ARUNDEL, GOLD COAST
Posts: 151
This is my whole setup with the high res motor. I bought a 12v adaptor with different plugs from dickies and the ac adaptor came from moonlite..
Is this what you were looking for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSCN9198.JPG)
125.7 KB23 views
Click for full-size image (DSCN9199.JPG)
127.3 KB25 views
Click for full-size image (DSCN9202.JPG)
128.8 KB19 views

Last edited by COSMOPARADISE; 20-03-2012 at 03:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-03-2012, 10:55 PM
Carl
Registered User

Carl is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alans Flat
Posts: 373
Power for focuser

Quote:
Originally Posted by COSMOPARADISE View Post
This is my whole setup with the high res motor. I bought a 12v adaptor with different plugs from dickies and the ac adaptor from ebay.
Is this what you were looking for?
Hi Nick
Thanks for the reply and the photos, very helpful. I run my mount off a Jaycar 12volt power supply so i can go and grab adapters. But i have full power out in my shed, the box came with power plug adapters to suit Australia. Does that mean it's safe to plug it straight into a powerboard?
As you can imagine I'd hate to see puffss of smoke rising from my new toy.

Regards
Carl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-03-2012, 11:39 PM
COSMOPARADISE's Avatar
COSMOPARADISE (Nick)
Nick Ulich

COSMOPARADISE is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ARUNDEL, GOLD COAST
Posts: 151
Hey carl there should be some writing on the ac plug and it should say how much input voltage it can take. It should say 110-240
Is your plug emerson brand?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-03-2012, 12:15 PM
scagman's Avatar
scagman (John)
Registered User

scagman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kinglake West
Posts: 716
Hi Carl,
There should be no problem with plugging it straight into your powerboard. I have one and just used the power supply that came with the moonlite. No problems.

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-03-2012, 01:13 PM
Visionoz's Avatar
Visionoz (Bill)
Registered User

Visionoz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 713
Or you can use a 12VDC power source that your mount is running on - ie just make yourself a power lead with a cigarette lighter end and the DC plug at the other - your current Jaycar DC power supply would be OK too

HTH
Cheers
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-03-2012, 01:20 PM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl View Post
Hi Nick
Thanks for the reply and the photos, very helpful. I run my mount off a Jaycar 12volt power supply so i can go and grab adapters. But i have full power out in my shed, the box came with power plug adapters to suit Australia. Does that mean it's safe to plug it straight into a powerboard?
As you can imagine I'd hate to see puffss of smoke rising from my new toy.

Regards
Carl
It will be safe, but just double check that it mentions 240V on the powerpack itself.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-03-2012, 08:01 PM
midnight's Avatar
midnight (Darrin)
Always on the road

midnight is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Australind, WA
Posts: 891
Carl,

If your device that plugs into the power point reads something like "100-240VAC" then it means that it is generally a "universal" power supply which is safe to plug into an Australian 240V outlet or even a 100V Japanese outlet. Ie it is designed to operate on any voltage from 100V all the way to 240VAC safely.

Universal power supplies also are generally capable of 50 or 60Hz (eg 50 used in Aus, 60 in the US and parts of Asia - mainly Japan).

So to answer your question & prevent a nasty surprise, please check the specification on the AC device & make sure it reads something like that above (ie 240VAC). This is very common now days with small devices like laptops, iPods, phone chargers, etc.

Cheers,
Darrin...
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (UniversalPower.jpg)
140.7 KB8 views
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement