Old 29-09-2010, 12:09 AM
Hypnotist (Bartholomew)

Nikon D40x for AP

Hi,

I only own a Nikon D40x and I don't want to buy a new camera for AP. I wanted to know, since I'm rather new to this all, how to use the camera for AP. What settings do I have to use etc.

Bart
Old 29-09-2010, 05:38 AM
Esseth (Alan)
Worse or better?

Awesome, i am just starting basic AP with the same camera, so we can learn together lol.

So far i have bought a IR remote, with manual exposure settings and ISO between 800-1600
Old 29-09-2010, 10:08 AM
mswhin63 (Malcolm)

I notice the specs say it has PAL video out. If you can get that to produce a picture on you PC you can do planetary imaging similar to my latest work on Venus and Jupiter. I have been clouded out for moon but managed a couple in poor seeing too.

I use APT software which is only suitable for canon, maybe there is sometihing you can use for the Nikon
Old 30-09-2010, 02:04 AM
Hypnotist (Bartholomew)

Exclamation Nikon D40(x)

Hi,

I didn't get to many responses regarding the Nikon D40x and astrophotography, so I thought I'd start a thread here. More of you tend to read it! I was wondering how to use a Nikon D40x for astrophotography. I just want to know what I need since I'll be using it with a Celestron CGE Pro 1400 EdgeHD. How do I have to set it to take planetary and deep sky images?! Is there a program I can use with the cam etc....?
Thanks and clear skies
Bart
Old 30-09-2010, 02:24 AM
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

The reason you didn't get a response is because 0.01% of astrophotographers use Nikon cameras.

Posting multiple threads isn't going to help.

Omaroo offered his assistance as he has Nikon gear. What more do you want?

You'll need a 2" T-mount and a 2" Nikon T-ring. The T-ring attaches to the camera as if it were a lens, and, goes on one end of the T-mount. The other end of the T-mount should screw into the visual back of the telescope.