ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
19.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
3:38 pm
Perth
1:38 pm
Auckland
5:38 pm
New York*
1:38 am
Paris*
7:38 am
GMT
5:38 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 10-04-2018, 01:46 PM
mldee's Avatar
mldee (Mike)
Gadget freak

mldee is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Warwick, Qld, Australia
Posts: 512
iOptron CEM60 has arrived

After about a month of waiting, due to my ordering just before Chinese New year and Easter, my CEM60 arrived last Friday, via Adelaide dealer. As there is a bit of a dearth of info on IIS re these mounts, I thought I'd try and add some. Pics below and will try to provide ongoing details as I get it up and running over the next few months.

My initial impression is quite positive. It came in a sturdy metal carrying case, all up less than 20Kg to carry (plus two separately-boxed counterweights, @ 9.5 and 4.5 Kgs. No tripod, which suited me, although apparently there is a suitable one available on their website, as has been mentioned elsewhere on IIS.

Includes AC power supply plus DC cable, GoTo Hand Controller with PC input and ASCOM, etc, etc. As shown in the user guide, it comes with GPS and a USB 2.0 hub built into the mount, with cabling access holes.

Next step is to finish my ROR observatory and install the mount on my trusty pier. But that's a story for another time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (ioptron 1.jpg)
175.1 KB89 views
Click for full-size image (ioptron 2.jpg)
179.3 KB90 views
Click for full-size image (ioptron 3.jpg)
166.1 KB82 views
Click for full-size image (ioptron 4.jpg)
154.9 KB99 views
Click for full-size image (ioptron 5.jpg)
128.5 KB117 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2018, 07:36 PM
brian nordstrom's Avatar
brian nordstrom (As avatar)
Registered User

brian nordstrom is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 4,155
Nice .

Brian.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-04-2018, 08:28 AM
rsbfoto's Avatar
rsbfoto
Registered User

rsbfoto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 95
Hi Mike,

Congrats.

Rainer from Mexico
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-04-2018, 07:25 PM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,554
Looks nice Mike, please keep us posted with your results and thoughts as you commission the mount.

Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-04-2018, 07:51 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 9,912
Congrats, Mike! Will be interested to hear how it performs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-04-2018, 10:40 AM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 10,206
Hi Mike
It certainly looks great.
I cant wait to hear how it works so please make getting your observatory up and running a top priority☺
I just came back (I am at the Tabby property for a couple more days) from looking at my planned ob site (again) and may even waddle up later with the crow bar and test for bed rock...but I am thinking even a floating pad and pier will be better than a tripod particularly when I consider the limited demands I make with relatively short focal lengths and maybe going over to fastar style imaging...
But your mount really appeals as I think it is just such a better design than anything else.
Good luck.
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-04-2018, 12:49 PM
OzEclipse's Avatar
OzEclipse (Joe Cali)
Registered User

OzEclipse is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 916
Hi Mike,

Looks good. Hope it works well for you.

There is a Yahoo iOptron mounts groups. You will find much more info there than on IIS.

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-04-2018, 05:34 PM
JimsShed's Avatar
JimsShed (Jim)
Registered User

JimsShed is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bellbowrie
Posts: 138
I'll be interested to hear about your experience with it. Nice that it comes with a case too, or was that extra?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2018, 03:30 PM
mldee's Avatar
mldee (Mike)
Gadget freak

mldee is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Warwick, Qld, Australia
Posts: 512
Thanks for encouragement

Hi Brian, Rainer, Dennis, Rick, Alex, Joe and Jim,

Thanks for the encouraging words, I'll do my best to keep all updated on progress. Just got back to my Downs dark site from a weekend in Brisbane, so will try tomorrow to setup the pier with mount and 10" truss Newt for a photo shoot....

Alex, I'll also take a shot of the 1.5x1.5m cement slab I am planning to put my second pier on for a C8 Hyperstar. Going to use your "Cube" concept with fibro sheet. I've had the C8/Hyperstar for about 5 years now, very happy with it.

Jim, Yes, the nice case is part of the deal, I'm quite impressed with the overall value. I'd always pictured iOptron as makers of little "exotic" mounts, but this one seems a nice fit capacity-wise, halfway between the EQ6 and the EQ8 at 27Kgs and good bang for the buck at around the $3K mark, delivered.

Last edited by mldee; 01-05-2018 at 03:31 PM. Reason: removed duplicate
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2018, 04:38 PM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 10,206
Hi Mike
Good luck hope all goes smoothly.

I went to the Hyperstar web site and it seemed like I time travelled well into the past...it looked abandoned...the forum entries were so far back it made me wonder if they were still in business.
I have made up my mind to get an 8 inch with hyperstar after I soet out a few things..perhaps a mount as well...but I ask have you had anything to do with hyperstar recently (or anyone reading this)...
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-05-2018, 04:47 PM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 10,206
Also what do they make fibro out of these days?
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-05-2018, 05:58 PM
croweater (Richard)
Don't Panic!

croweater is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Millicent, South Australia
Posts: 193
http://www.astrobuysell.com/au/propview.php?view=3238
[QUOTE=xelasnave;

I went to the Hyperstar web site and it seemed like I time travelled well into the past...it looked abandoned...the forum entries were so far back it made me wonder if they were still in business.
I have made up my mind to get an 8 inch with hyperstar after I soet out a few things..perhaps a mount as well...but I ask have you had anything to do with hyperstar recently (or anyone reading this)...
Alex[/QUOTE]
Hi AlexThis setup at the link looks good. Cheers, Richard.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-05-2018, 06:31 PM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 10,206
Hi Richard
Thank you for thinking of me and posting the link ... I have had a peak and it sure looks great.
Certainly gives me something to think about.
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-05-2018, 09:18 PM
mldee's Avatar
mldee (Mike)
Gadget freak

mldee is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Warwick, Qld, Australia
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by xelasnave View Post
Also what do they make fibro out of these days?
Alex
Hi Alex,
Must admit I haven't bothered much with the Starizona website for some years, as I had little reason to visit. I suspect your impression is probably all part of the unfortunate economic experiences much of the US has been suffering for some years now. I hope they recover.

The Hyperstar I bought new from them in 2011 did what it was supposed to do, so that was that. I'm not a greatly skilled astrophotographer, more a happy snapper, but the odd occasions to use a very fast widefield setup has given me much satisfaction. My problem stems from buying too many toys and not enough use of them all.

I would think the two major factors for me are (1) My ability and creativity and (2) my rather ancient black tube C8 optics. If you get a more modern HD OTA and Hyperstar as Richard mentioned above, your results from Tabulam should be pretty satisfying. Main thing is that you need a good subject; a wide field pic of stars is just that; a lot of stars.

As to fibro: made from pressed fibrous cement these days. No problems.

Last edited by mldee; 01-05-2018 at 09:20 PM. Reason: punctuation
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-05-2018, 07:21 PM
mldee's Avatar
mldee (Mike)
Gadget freak

mldee is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Warwick, Qld, Australia
Posts: 512
Finally on the pier

Finally got the mount on my trusty old pier for some photos, with the 10" truss Newt to give some scale. Must admit the more I see the mount, the better I like it.
All stainless steel hardware, smooth powder coat finish, weighs about the same as my AzEqQ6 and has lots of small "extras" like 4-port USB hub, GPS, internal wiring channels, etc. Some pics follow, please note that I didn't bother attaching the balance shaft for the photos.

I did have to drill two holes in the pier baseplate to take the two stainless attachment bolts, although there is a central ~10mm hole in the mount base that could be used with a short bolt.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Storage box.jpg)
163.0 KB61 views
Click for full-size image (scope mounted 0.jpg)
121.6 KB74 views
Click for full-size image (mount finish.jpg)
153.4 KB63 views
Click for full-size image (Mount RA and Dec.jpg)
128.0 KB57 views
Click for full-size image (dovetail ports1.jpg)
149.4 KB63 views
Click for full-size image (dovetail cables 0.jpg)
160.7 KB50 views
Click for full-size image (mount elev and fixing bolts.jpg)
189.9 KB57 views
Click for full-size image (mount RH ports.jpg)
137.1 KB51 views
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-05-2018, 07:54 PM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by mldee View Post
Finally got the mount on my trusty old pier for some photos, with the 10" truss Newt to give some scale. Must admit the more I see the mount, the better I like it.
All stainless steel hardware, smooth powder coat finish, weighs about the same as my AzEqQ6 and has lots of small "extras" like 4-port USB hub, GPS, internal wiring channels, etc. Some pics follow, please note that I didn't bother attaching the balance shaft for the photos.

I did have to drill two holes in the pier baseplate to take the two stainless attachment bolts, although there is a central ~10mm hole in the mount base that could be used with a short bolt.
Thanks Mike - looks like a good mount. Interesting to see the various connectors on the saddle.

Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-05-2018, 09:00 PM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 10,206
Looks great.
alex
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-05-2018, 09:26 AM
rsbfoto's Avatar
rsbfoto
Registered User

rsbfoto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 95
Hi,

Looks good but

Quote:
... please note that I didn't bother attaching the balance shaft for the photos.
That is from my point of view never a good idea ...

Rainer
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-05-2018, 10:28 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 8,035
Does look indeed good.

I have to ask though - in the picture you posted that I have reposted, I can see quite significant paint scraping in the elevation track. Was that how it was delivered, or did it slip during adjustment and caused the elevation tensioning plate to scrape the paint off?

Is there any other mitigation from slip in elevation like the common and traditional jack-bolt? Or does it rely solely on friction - of what I assume is symmetrical on both sides - of these plates tensioned down with the vertical bolts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (mount elev and fixing bolts.jpg)
195.6 KB41 views
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-05-2018, 05:25 PM
mldee's Avatar
mldee (Mike)
Gadget freak

mldee is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Warwick, Qld, Australia
Posts: 512
Just my impatience

Just the result of my impatience. The elevation adjustment is actually a very robust rear-access 10mm jackscrew/wormdrive affair, you can see the screw adjustment large alloy knob to the left of the red area you outlined. Of course I had to try turning it without bothering to realise there were also two friction locking nuts , one each side, both screwed down a bit at the factory but not enough to stop a determined rotation of the adjustment knob by yours truly...I never was much of a one for RTFM first

Actually seems a bit pointless to put paint on an area that will be subject to friction, even if it's only a lock.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement