#1  
Old 28-02-2008, 08:56 PM
madtuna's Avatar
madtuna (Steve)
an overactive imagination

madtuna is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: just south of wollongong
Posts: 576
Can I use my aust powered gear O.S.?

heading to the states in a few weeks and was wondering can I use my lappy and my 40D charger over there with just the little plug adapters, or do I need some sort of voltage converter?
would hate to blow them up

many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-02-2008, 10:46 PM
skwinty's Avatar
skwinty (Steve)
E pur si muove

skwinty is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 494
Hi Madtuna
Look on the back of your power supply modules.
The input voltage range is stated there.
For example my lappy power supply says input voltage 100 - 240 VAC
50-60Hz.
In South Africa we use 220VAC @ 50Hz
The USA uses 110VAC @ 60Hz so i would be able to use my lappy over there.
Most electronic gear these days is made to autodetect input voltage and adjust accordingly.
I am sure the same will be true for the Canon 40d as I purchased mine in the States and it works fine @ 220VAC 50Hz.
Regards
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-02-2008, 10:53 PM
madtuna's Avatar
madtuna (Steve)
an overactive imagination

madtuna is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: just south of wollongong
Posts: 576
thanks mate! I just checked and it's the same.
I just remember when I was there a bunch of years ago I had to flick a switch to 110 and something I brought back I had to get a 240 power converter for.

cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-02-2008, 11:12 PM
RAJAH235's Avatar
RAJAH235
A very 'Senior' member.

RAJAH235 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Coast N.S.W.
Posts: 2,490
You've gotta learn to update, Steve.
"Most" modern devices are powered by a 'switchmode' power supply.
eg; 100/250 Volts @ 50/60 hz input, whatever designed V n A output.
Should be fine.
Regs, L..

ps. If the plug pack is heavy, (Got a small transformer in 'em), it ain't a switch mode, which are very light in weight.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-02-2008, 11:26 PM
skwinty's Avatar
skwinty (Steve)
E pur si muove

skwinty is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAJAH235 View Post
You've gotta learn to update, Steve.
"Most" modern devices are powered by a 'switchmode' power supply.
eg; 100/250 Volts @ 50/60 hz input, whatever designed V n A output.
Should be fine.
Regs, L..

ps. If the plug pack is heavy, (Got a small transformer in 'em), it ain't a switch mode, which are very light in weight.
Hi Reg
Dont get the update bit.
Am trying to keep it simple as everytime i use fancy words I get told im wrong.
In essence though I am saying the same thing.
"Most electronic gear these days is made to autodetect input voltage and adjust accordingly"
Kind Regards
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-02-2008, 11:29 PM
madtuna's Avatar
madtuna (Steve)
an overactive imagination

madtuna is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: just south of wollongong
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAJAH235 View Post
You've gotta learn to update, Steve.
"Most" modern devices are powered by a 'switchmode' power supply.
eg; 100/250 Volts @ 50/60 hz input, whatever designed V n A output.
Should be fine.
Regs, L..

ps. If the plug pack is heavy, (Got a small transformer in 'em), it ain't a switch mode, which are very light in weight.
Laurie..you sound like my mum..."Steve! get in there and change those damn undies"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-02-2008, 11:54 PM
skwinty's Avatar
skwinty (Steve)
E pur si muove

skwinty is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 494
Hi Laurie and Madtuna
Dont need to change them damn undies.
They are switched mode undies.
They adjust accordingly
Regards
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-02-2008, 12:58 AM
citivolus's Avatar
citivolus (Ric)
Refracted

citivolus is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carindale
Posts: 1,178
You still need to be cautious when purchasing gear in the USA with the intention of bringing it back. While most gear here will support 100-240V, manufacturers in the USA will often save a bit on production costs and only include a 120V power supply. This is especially true with computer/networking and telescope equipment, such as products by Linksys/Cisco, Dlink, and Meade. In my experience, most of the external self powered devices sold in the USA in shops such as CompUSA, Best Buy, and Fry's Electronics will only have a 120V supply. You're best to ask a salesman to open a unit for you before purchasing to confirm, as I've even bought some that claimed on the manufacturer web site to have a 240V capability, only to open it and find a 120V only supply inside.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement