Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 15-07-2018, 12:13 AM
Mandalore (Tom)

Absolute Beginner’s Astrophotography

Hello IceInSpace
This is my first ever post.
This evening I had a go at astrophotography. I have a Celestron 5se GoTo telescope and a Cannon EOS 1100D.
I have aligned my telescope and started taking pictures of Cadwell star clusters such as Southern Pleiades, Wishing Well Cluster, Pearl Cluster, Jewelbox Cluster. I have a few good pictures. I would add them here, but photobucket doesn’t seem to be working for me.

The problem I have is that when the digital camera is attached to the telescope, I cannot see the stars until I take a photo. I can’t see through the viewfinder of the camera, it is too small. The screen of my camera is almost always completely blank, until I have taken an exposure.
Is there any way so that I can see what I am taking photos of before I take the actual photos?
It would be good to have a look at what I am taking photos of so that I can capture the whole star cluster.

Thanks
Tom
Old 15-07-2018, 12:40 AM
AndyG (Andy)
No. I am a meat popsicle.

Hi Tom,

Welcome I haven't been here long myself, but I hope the below helps somehow. Sounds like you're chasing the "Liveview" function:

http://support-th.canon-asia.com/con...0228500.html#1

Liveview is a great opportunity to check focus. You can do this by digitally zooming in with the liveview screen. Get a star in the LCD, zoom in digitally, then adjust the Scope's focus carefully until this star image is sharp. Exposure is another aspect you can pay attention to, at this stage. After that, you're good to go.

Post results in the Beginners astrophotography section!
Party on!
Andy.
Old 15-07-2018, 03:16 PM
iborg (Philip)

Hi
If you have a suitable laptop, look up BYEOS. Very useful camera control software.
Philip
Old 16-07-2018, 05:31 AM
Karlzburg (Karl)
No moon for you!!