Old 09-03-2018, 11:23 AM
AstroBogan (Jacob)
Jacob

Newbie help with HEQ5

Hi All,

I'm a complete beginner to this and purchased myself a brand new HEQ5 pro mount. I am having trouble understanding how to calibrate the polar scope as I watched a video of a guy in the northern hemisphere who was talking about putting in the date/time for where Polaris should be at that date and time ring things (or something along those lines) and the going ahead and calibrating it by using the mini Allen key.

Do I need to worry about that here (date/time)? Or do I just make the adjustments so that it is dead centre on the target when i rotate the mount?

Thanks!
Old 13-03-2018, 12:54 AM
Rkonrad (Richard)

Are you using the mount for AP or visual only and what scope have you mounted on the HEQ5 , northern hemisphere polar scope is just that you cant use it in the south
Yes you have to input your location (gps coordinates) date and time
I suggest you get a manual for the mount and read it at least 3 times as its difficult for beginners
What power supply are you using for the mount?
Old 13-03-2018, 08:08 AM
kens (Ken)

Most polarscopes these days work in both hemispheres but are beter in the north.
Polar aligning with a polarscope in the southern hemisphere is a pain as the alignment stars are not easily identifiable.
If you are intending visual only then just use a compass and inclinometer. If you want better alignment then follow up with a drift alignment suing the eyepiece.
If you are imaging then use any of the available applications that support polar alignment - I use PHD2. If you are imaging with just a DSLR then try he DARV method.
Old 15-03-2018, 02:31 AM
Rkonrad (Richard)

100% I use a polar scope when I am in Prague and took it with me to RSA but its useless , for visual just use a smart phone to get your latitude and south and you will be fine , as mentioned for AP you will have to do Drift