#1  
Old 12-10-2011, 06:47 PM
hotspur's Avatar
hotspur (Chris)
Registered User

hotspur is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: south east QLD,Australia
Posts: 2,851
Re Live View in EOS

Does anyone here use Live View on their EOS cameras? (non astronomy use)

My son is starting to use the 600D quite a bit,and tried using today,but it went into 'la la' land,when he was about to shoot.I have never really used live view for regular use,all I know is,it uses a fair bit of battery power,and obviously there is a camera default that switches off after a certain time,this could be lengthened ?

Also,I heard it may introduce more noise?,I can see its good for glam shoots when camera connected to computer in a studio.But not sure if live view is something used for 'out'n'about use.

If anyone has any links or thoughts on live view,I can pass on to him.

Thanks Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2011, 06:52 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
LiveView for landscapes in Exposure Simulation mode is the bomb. Can't do without it.

I've also used it for portraits to nail down focus (particularly with people staggered about).

I'm not sure if the 600D offers the same level of options as the 5D Mark II does, though.

It's all explained in the manual!

H
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2011, 07:55 PM
hotspur's Avatar
hotspur (Chris)
Registered User

hotspur is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: south east QLD,Australia
Posts: 2,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octane View Post
LiveView for landscapes in Exposure Simulation mode is the bomb. Can't do without it.

I've also used it for portraits to nail down focus (particularly with people staggered about).

I'm not sure if the 600D offers the same level of options as the 5D Mark II does, though.

It's all explained in the manual!

H

Thanks-H

I'll try that myself with the 50D,I've never really used L.V much.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2011, 08:05 PM
naskies's Avatar
naskies (Dave)
Registered User

naskies is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,865
I agree with Mr H... can't live with it anymore - though I used to wonder why I ever needed it

I find it great for composing landscapes with the sun in frame (so I don't have to burn my eyeballs looking through the viewfinder), all macro work - the viewfinder is usually in a difficult-to-reach position, precise focusing on a tripod, and getting feedback in real time. The 5DmkII (and presumably 600D) also has a silent shooting mode in LiveView.

If you're tethered to a laptop, seeing the LiveView display on the laptop screen is fantastic. (When in this mode, you can press the LiveView button on the camera again to see it on the back of the camera too.)

Btw, the switching off is just the camera's normal sleep timer - disable or extend it in the menus.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2011, 10:08 PM
hotspur's Avatar
hotspur (Chris)
Registered User

hotspur is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: south east QLD,Australia
Posts: 2,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by naskies View Post
I agree with Mr H... can't live with it anymore - though I used to wonder why I ever needed it

I find it great for composing landscapes with the sun in frame (so I don't have to burn my eyeballs looking through the viewfinder), all macro work - the viewfinder is usually in a difficult-to-reach position, precise focusing on a tripod, and getting feedback in real time. The 5DmkII (and presumably 600D) also has a silent shooting mode in LiveView.

If you're tethered to a laptop, seeing the LiveView display on the laptop screen is fantastic. (When in this mode, you can press the LiveView button on the camera again to see it on the back of the camera too.)

Btw, the switching off is just the camera's normal sleep timer - disable or extend it in the menus.

Thanks Dave.

The flip out screen in the 600D is very useful,I imagine it would be good for macro in garden with L.V

Will be good when Canon bring out the 5DIII and 7DII these will have the flip
out screen.I'd hold off a purchase on a 7D and wait for that feature alone.It is that useful.

Cheers Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement