ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
83.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
3:16 am
Perth
12:16 am
Auckland*
5:16 am
New York
11:16 am
Paris
5:16 pm
GMT
4:16 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Star Parties, Club and Community Events

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 21-01-2010, 10:11 PM
Newbie79 (Matt)
Registered User

Newbie79 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gladstone, Queensland
Posts: 25
Good Dark sky location in GLadstone QLD???

Hi, Just wondering if anyone knows of a good dark sky location in the GLadstone QLD area.

Thanks to the street light right outside and all the industry in the area it is constant 'daylight' in my backyard.

Thanks

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-12-2018, 11:45 PM
Omnius's Avatar
Omnius (Tye)
Registered User

Omnius is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gladstone, QLD
Posts: 9
Hiya there, I have just moved here. While I haven't yet checked out the area my guess is Lady Larcom would be the best bet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2019, 01:19 AM
ngcles's Avatar
ngcles
The Observologist

ngcles is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Billimari, NSW Central West
Posts: 1,499
Hi Newbie 79 & All,

I've only been to Gladstone once in my life for two nights and the light pollution, for just a good-sized town, is beyond belief! They have gone nuts in the port and the smelter with a gazillion low-pressure sodium light. In the centre of town the sky is bright orange. You have my pity. I'd be heading 30-40km W or better SW and put that awful light-dome as far as you can in the NE sky.

Not a great place to be in the middle of Gladsone for a beginner!

You can use the light pollution map here to find a better site:

https://www.lightpollutionmap.info/#...rs=B0FFTFFFFFT

Best,

L.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement