Old 01-04-2016, 10:28 AM
glend (Glen)

Image Registration - How to do it?

I am just getting into mono imaging with my newly modded mono DSLR, shooting narrow band over several nights on the same object I wind up with slight orientation differences on the stacked TIFs for HA, OIII, and SII. I know that DSS registers the subs taken on each filter when I stack them, but how do I align the final TIFs before I layer them in Photoshop? Is this a job for a plate solver, or does an app like Register do it, or is there a Photoshop function I am missing?
Thanks in advance.
Old 01-04-2016, 10:36 AM
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

forgive me if i have missed something here, but you can move the channels in Photoshop, doing a free transform to rotate and align the different stacked channels. you dont need to register the tiffs, just manipulate them in PS
Old 01-04-2016, 11:00 AM
glend (Glen)

Yes the Auto-Align function might do it but I was not sure of the precision of that PS function. If that's what is being used then great I can do that. Thanks
Old 01-04-2016, 11:06 AM
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

That is all I use, zooming in so the individual pixels are visible then looking at a small star and making adjustments, once I get one star perfect I move the rotation point there and go to the other corner and rotate so it also lines up. If there is a better way to do it I would be keen hear about it
Old 01-04-2016, 01:13 PM
rustigsmed (Russell)

hi glen,

I think there is maybe a way to register them in DSS to a calibration image but the easiest way has probably got to be RegiStar, that is why I bought it, so quick and easy to use. Trying to align in PS is a nightmare (as you have figured out already!). I know PixInsight can do it too (and probably CCD stack) but I haven't used them. I think Rick or Ray did a topic about 6-8 months ago that went through a few different options from memory.

Cheers

Russ
Old 01-04-2016, 02:39 PM
DJT (David)