#1  
Old 15-01-2019, 12:25 PM
GAL1LEO
Registered User

GAL1LEO is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 13
Stellarium

Hi All,
Is there any benefit to using Stellarium to control a go-to mount over the inbuilt software of the mount for just visual observing?
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-01-2019, 12:41 PM
Granada
The truth is out there

Granada is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 77
Stellarium offers you the view of the entire night sky and you can simply point and click to send your scope to the desired location. I find this useful because I only have a limited view of the sky from where I typically observe, so I can choose targets which are visible in that patch. For astrophotography it's also quite useful as it can show you how you're tracking and other useful info. Having said all that, when I'm out doing visual I find it easiest just to use the scope's Go To remote as it requires the least amount of setting up and fiddling around with cables, laptop, table, software, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-01-2019, 12:51 PM
GAL1LEO
Registered User

GAL1LEO is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Granada View Post
Stellarium offers you the view of the entire night sky and you can simply point and click to send your scope to the desired location. I find this useful because I only have a limited view of the sky from where I typically observe, so I can choose targets which are visible in that patch. For astrophotography it's also quite useful as it can show you how you're tracking and other useful info. Having said all that, when I'm out doing visual I find it easiest just to use the scope's Go To remote as it requires the least amount of setting up and fiddling around with cables, laptop, table, software, etc.
Thanks, I use Stellarium on my devices and desktop to look and plan etc.
Just wasn't sure whether getting all the cables and setting up each time was worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-01-2019, 01:53 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,051
If you have a Skywatcher or Orion Mount ( Synta ) it’s worth your while controlling the mount with EQMOD and Stellarium
You will need “Stellarium Scope” software ( free ) which acts as your control platform for Stellarium
I use this system of goto mount control and tracking for both AP and visual
It’s extremely accurate once set up and running
I can send you some set up procedure info if your interested
System only works on Synta mounts as mentioned above
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-01-2019, 02:05 PM
GAL1LEO
Registered User

GAL1LEO is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
If you have a Skywatcher or Orion Mount ( Synta ) it’s worth your while controlling the mount with EQMOD and Stellarium
You will need “Stellarium Scope” software ( free ) which acts as your control platform for Stellarium
I use this system of goto mount control and tracking for both AP and visual
It’s extremely accurate once set up and running
I can send you some set up procedure info if your interested
System only works on Synta mounts as mentioned above
Cheers
Thanks Martin. Mine is Celestron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-01-2019, 03:30 PM
Granada
The truth is out there

Granada is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by GAL1LEO View Post
Thanks, I use Stellarium on my devices and desktop to look and plan etc.
Just wasn't sure whether getting all the cables and setting up each time was worth it.

In my opinion, probably not, but I'm sure there will be other opinions. It is pretty cool being able to remotely control your scope with just a laptop (and if you have 2 laptops and it's really cold outside, you can go a step further by controlling everything from the comfort of your warm home using TeamViewer which is free).


However sometimes I'm not in the mood for too much fiddling around and just want to go outside and start observing, so that's when the Go To remote fits the purpose perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-01-2019, 08:49 PM
JeniSkunk's Avatar
JeniSkunk (Jenifur)
Registered User

JeniSkunk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by GAL1LEO View Post
Mine is Celestron
Should be no problems then.
Synta owns Celestron.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celestron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-01-2019, 10:38 PM
ChrisV's Avatar
ChrisV (Chris)
Registered User

ChrisV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,065
I use both stellarium and CDC to control Celestron mounts. Works fine. I connect three ways
- a cable from the handcontroller to an rs232-usb adaptor to computer.
- a cable from e handcontroller to an rs232-bluetooth.
- and more invasive. I soldered a Bluetooth module inside the handcontroller. Then no external working - can use handcontroller or run via Bluetooth
https://www.cloudynights.com/topic/5...bluetooth-mod/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-01-2019, 10:57 PM
GAL1LEO
Registered User

GAL1LEO is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 13
Thankyou for the replies.
I might connect up and have a play.

Not sure i am keen for the soldered mod though lol
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-01-2019, 06:01 PM
Karlzburg (Karl)
No moon for you!!

Karlzburg is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mudgee, NSW
Posts: 329
I tried Stellarium but wouldn't save my location or have the proper time, I found it hard to sync to stars, now I use Carte De Ciel (CDC) it's not as flash as Stellarium but gives me a lot of control over my scope.
I'm happy with how it works.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16-01-2019, 07:05 PM
silv's Avatar
silv (Annette)
Registered User

silv is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany 54°N
Posts: 1,109
Wifi control via Smartphone app would also be an option instead of cables and laptop. If you're not into astrophotography but only do visual then not having to use a laptop in the dew outside could be more convenient?

Those apps act like a bridge in the background between a planetarium app and a Wifi-extension on the mount.
Wifi-extension also work with laptops, of course.

Not sure which but there is an app or maybe more than one that reacts on tilting your smartphone. The direction you tilt, the direction the mount moves.
So you not only have buttons on the screen which can be a pain I understand bc you can hardly control them in the blind but have to look at the screen each time you want to manually move the mount.

Maybe a Wifi adapter can be added to your mount, as well?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement