#1  
Old 14-01-2014, 01:53 PM
niko's Avatar
niko
Registered User

niko is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 1,053
Canon 1100D dies - any clues or advice?

Hi,

I took my Canon 1100D (and Tokina 11-16mm lens) out for some star trail works last week and it just up and died on me.

I set it capturing 30sec images repeatedly using an intervalometer and went off a little distnace so I could turn on my headtorch and read. I could hear it clicking away

After an hour or so I went back to it. The red light on the back was on and the camera was inactive - I assumed the battery had run out, turned it off and went home to bed.

Next morning I took the card out and plugged it in to the PC to discover only 4 photos had been taken. When I checked the camera it showed "err" in the viewfinder and the LCD screen was dead. Then it wouldn't even get that far.

Has anyone had a similar experience and offer any advice? I will check the battery door catch which was suggested on the net as a possible source of the problem.

I've already tried a different battery without success.

I'm hoping it's not the motherboard as it is only just out of warranty.

thanks in advance

niko
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-01-2014, 02:21 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,113
Hi Niko,
Have you tried to tether the camera to a PC to see if it will recognise it?
Just hope it's a blown fuse and not a dead MB.
The Camera Clinic in Collingwood has great service or just hand it to Martin (Mill!)
Bo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-01-2014, 03:09 PM
danielsun's Avatar
danielsun
Canon collector

danielsun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Taylors Lakes Melb
Posts: 1,964
Hey Niko, I have had similar problems where my camera would be stuck with "BUSY"flashing and some error code and a couple of times stuck saying loading with all buttons frozen. I cant exactly remember what I did but I did lots of stuff like battery in and out and disconnect and reconnecting to pc and some how it came good. Even try a new memory card as it may be stuffed. Just a guess.
But my problems were caused by the pc crashing whilst in the middle of a shoot connected to the camera.
If all else fails it may be time to get a 6D.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-01-2014, 04:33 PM
niko's Avatar
niko
Registered User

niko is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 1,053
thanks guys

I'll have a proper muck around tonight and see how I get on. Failing success there I can head over to Collingwood

cheers

niko
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-01-2014, 10:11 AM
niko's Avatar
niko
Registered User

niko is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 1,053
and in the bizarre world of electronics - I took out the battery, re-charged it overnight and the SD card - plugged it all back in this morning and it seems to be working!

bizarre but happy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-01-2014, 10:53 AM
alpal's Avatar
alpal
Registered User

alpal is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by niko View Post
and in the bizarre world of electronics - I took out the battery, re-charged it overnight and the SD card - plugged it all back in this morning and it seems to be working!

bizarre but happy

Don't hold your breath - it could be an intermittent problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-01-2014, 05:16 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
niko,

I had the exact same thing happen to me once on a photography trip to NZ back when I had my 350D. I hiked up to a location and the camera stopped working. Scared the crap out of me! Charged both batteries (I had a grip for it), put them in and it all started working again.

That was the only time it ever happened in 4 years of owning that camera.

H
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-01-2014, 12:13 AM
kosh's Avatar
kosh (Goran)
Registered User

kosh is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 312
My 450D crashes with a message on the screen saying something like " err###. Remove battery and re-insert and try again" or something similar.
When I put the battery back in, all is good but I shouldn't have to do that. So far I've only noticed this when connected to the PC via USB but then again, I only use it sparingly apart from astro stuff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement