#1  
Old 03-01-2014, 05:53 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,533
Question PixInsight CR2/RAW Processing

Hi all,

Can anyone confirm my suspicion: To calibrate & register CR2 files in PixInsight they need to be split in to FITS of Red, Green and Blue channels.

?

Tutorials I have found don't mention this but when I do the required step of converting CR2 to FIT the FIT's end up grayscale. The only way I can think to overcome this is to split them in to RGB files and process individually.

Thanks,
Roger.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2014, 07:18 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,533
Forget it ... seems I was reading old documentation because loading CR2's and doing the full workflow of reduction, alignment, etc on them and their large .FIT results works fine. No need for splitting channels it seems for now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2014, 10:07 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
If you're using the BatchPreProcessing script, just make sure the "CFA Images" option is ticked (Colour Filter Array). If you're doing it manually using ImageCalibration standalone script, I think the option there is "CFA pattern detection".

If things are working for you, must have the above checked.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2014, 10:36 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by troypiggo View Post
If you're using the BatchPreProcessing script, just make sure the "CFA Images" option is ticked (Colour Filter Array). If you're doing it manually using ImageCalibration standalone script, I think the option there is "CFA pattern detection".

If things are working for you, must have the above checked.
I was using the "BatchFormatConversion Script" to convert the CR2 in to FIT, which doesn't seem to have a CFA option but does have "raw cfa" as the default value in the "Input format hints". This was producing greyscale FIT files.

I then instead didn't do any batch conversion and just loaded the RAW files directly in to image calibration which produced the correct colour FIT files as output. So I'm guessing there's no longer a need to do conversion to FIT first.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement